Category Archives: Message from ACL

New ACL Website, Review of “Raymie Nightingale”

Greetings to all our Blog visitors!  The Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California is revitalizing our website (http://www.bayviews.org/)  and blog. The new version of both will be unveiled in May 2016, so you might find us offline for a … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL, Review of the Week, Updates | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

ACL Institute “Race Matters” Registration, Peggy Fortnum dies

“Race Matters: Practical Ways Libraries Can Celebrate All Youth:”  Registration is now open for ACL Institute 2016!  Please join us. The Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California (ACL) Proudly Presents Race Matters: Practical Ways Libraries Can Celebrate All Youth. Friday, June 3, … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL, News, Obituary, Updates | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

ACL Meeting, Read-Alikes for “The War That Saved My Life”

ACL Meeting Friday, April 8, 2016:  Just a quick reminder for our Bay Area members!  Please join us for our ACL Meeting on Friday, April 8, 2016, from 9am–1pm at the Oakland Main Library.   We will have our usual Book … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL, Read-alikes, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

ACL’s Reviewers Guide, Cleary’s 100th Birthday, and More!

Check out ACL’s New Reviewers Guide: The Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California offers a new Reviewers Guide, with added focus on reviewing diversity in books for youth. Please see the documents on our BayViews website:  http://bayviews.org/reviewtools.html http://bayviews.org/reviewersguide03-2016.pdf CBC … Continue reading

Posted in Media Watch, Message from ACL, News, Updates | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Louise Rennison Dies, Alan Bern’s New “Greater Distance” book of poetry

Author Louise Rennison Dies: Louise Rennison, author of the young adult series that began with Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging has died. The British author was 63 years old, and had a background in performing and writing comedy before … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, News, Obituary, Updates | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

ACL Fellowships Available

Applications are now being accepted for The Dorothy Helfeld Fellowship, presented annually by the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California (ACL). ACL invites students of children’s librarianship and/or children’s literature to explore the question, “Children’s librarianship – is it … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, Professional Development, Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment

ALSC Survey, Carnegie and Greenaway Contenders

ALSC Survey: A message from Meredith Steiner, ACL President, to all youth services librarians: “I am excited to be a part of a group of public and school librarians from different libraries around the country working with ALSC, to conduct an … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Message from ACL, Updates | Tagged , , | Leave a comment