Monthly Archives: July 2015

Review of the Week: My Bike by Byron Barton

Barton, Byron. My Bike. Byron Barton, Illus. Picture Book. Greenwillow, 04/2015. [34]p. $16.99. 978-0-06-233699-6. OUTSTANDING. GRADES TOD-PRE. Tom rides his bike to work, past cars, trucks, and even monkeys and elephants, before donning clown makeup to ride a unicycle in … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

New July BayNews Available

New ACL BayNews Posted: The July 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org . You will find reviews on new Pop-up books, Readalikes for Tom Angleberger’s bestselling … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment

Intern Needed for Children’s Fairyland

San Jose State Univ. iSchool Student Needed for Internship at Children’s Fairyland: Oakland Public Library, Children’s Services, http://www.oaklandlibrary.org 125 14th Street, Room 6,  Oakland, CA  94612 JOB TITLE: Fairyland Librarian JOB DESCRIPTION:  Children’s Fairyland is a storybook theme park on the shores … Continue reading

Posted in News, Professional Development | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: High Tide for Horseshoe Crabs

Schnell, Lisa Kahn. High Tide for Horseshoe Crabs. Alan Marks, Illus. Nonfiction.  Charlesbridge, 04/2015. [32]p. $16.95. 978-1-58089-604-7. OUTSTANDING. GRADES K-3 Each spring, Delaware Bay teems with life as millions of horseshoe crabs come ashore to mate and lay eggs, thousands … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Read-Alikes: “Origami Yoda” series by Tom Angleberger

READ-ALIKES – “Origami Yoda” series by Tom Angleberger Baker, Kim. Pickle: The (Formerly) Anonymous Prank Club of Fountain Point Middle School. Brown, Jeffrey. “Star Wars Academy” series. Castle, M.E. Popular Clone: The Clone Chronicles. Emerson, Marcus. Diary of a 6th … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Spring Board Books, Part II

Spring Board Books, Part II: Last month, in Part I of our semi-annual Board Book Round-up, we discussed new board book series and individual titles released in early 2015. Today in Part II we will finish the Round-up with new … Continue reading

Posted in Board Book Round Up | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: If You Find This

Baker, Matthew. If You Find This. Fiction. Little Brown, 2015. 358p. $13.60. 978-0-316-24008-6. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 6-8. Seventh grader Nicholas’ life in Michigan seems to be falling apart when his aged, long-absent, and confused grandfather implies that if Nicholas could locate … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment