Monthly Archives: October 2012

Review of the Week

Gennari, Jennifer. My Mixed-up Berry Blue Summer.  Fic.  Houghton, 2012. 119p. $15.99 978-0-547-57739-5,  PB $5.99, 978-0-544-02273-7.  ADDITIONAL. GRADES 4-7. June has always known that her mom was gay, and she’s fine with that. What she’s not fine with is her … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Serving LGBTQ Families

Naidoo, Jamie Campbell. Rainbow Family Collections: Selecting and Using Children’s Books with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Content. Libraries Unlimited, 2012. $30.  ISBN 978-1-59884-960-8. Although the bulk of this resource book focuses on children’s literature with LGBT content, Naidoo … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Guardian Award, Random/Penguin Merger, Lowry Interview

Frank Cottrell Boyce was named the Guardian Award winner for his book The Unforgotten Coat, which he originally wrote for charity. He was commissioned to write the story (of a Mongolian schoolgirl whose family was taken forcibly from their home … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Media Watch, News | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Wolff, Ashley. Baby Bear Sees Blue.  Ashley Wolff, Illus. Pic. Bk. Beach Lane, 2012. 40p. $16.99. 978-1-4424-1306-1.  OUTSTANDING GRADES TOD-PRE Wolff captures a young child’s unending curiosity of the world, weaving in an identification of colors, all with perfect pacing … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | 1 Comment

National Book Award Young People’s Literature Nominees

The National Book Foundation announced the finalists for the 2012 National Book Award in Young People’s Literature. The nominees are:     William Alexander, Goblin Secrets(S&S/McElderry); Carrie Arcos, Out of Reach(Simon Pulse); Patricia McCormick,   Never Fall Down (HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray);   … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Leave a comment

Lynden Public Library wins 2012 Mora Award

Lynden Public Library wins 2012 Mora Award REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library & Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking, is pleased to announce that Lynden Public Library of the Whatcom County Library System is the recipient … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

New ACL BayNews and New CLA Briefings Newsletters Posted

New ACL Newsletter Posted to Bayviews Check out the latest issue of “BayNews,” the monthly newsletter for ACL.  This month features Storytime themes on math concepts, and possums, Do-It-Yourself programming ideas on science toys, Read-alikes for “Harry Potter” and books … Continue reading

Posted in Media Watch, Message from ACL, News, Programming Ideas, Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment