Monthly Archives: August 2015

Do-It-Yourself Program: Harry Potter Party

Do-It-Yourself Program Ideas – Harry Potter Crafts and Games      A book party celebrating J.K. Rowling’s “Harry Potter” books will still draw a crowd, even after all these years! Here are some ideas for a craft and game program you … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Luna and Me by Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw

Kostecki-Shaw, Jenny Sue. Luna and Me. Picture Book. Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw, Illus. Christy Ottavio/H. Holt, 05/2015. 40p. PLB $17.99. 978-0-8050-9976-8. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-3. This book is based upon the true story (from one perspective) of tree-sitting Julia Butterfly Hill and … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Reissues and Special Editions Out This Month

Bruel, Nick. Bad Kitty: 10th Anniversary Edition! Roaring Brook, 2015. [42p.]. $16.99. ISBN 978-1-62672-245-3.      Although this edition of the first book in the popular “Bad Kitty” series is not useful for libraries, it will make a nice gift. Basically, … Continue reading

Posted in Out of the Ordinary | Tagged | Leave a comment

New BayNews Posted with Harry Potter Party Ideas

New ACL BayNews Posted: The August 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org . You will find ideas for a Harry Potter Party, read-alikes for Chris Grabenstein’s … Continue reading

Posted in News, Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: “Blackbird Fly” by Erin Entrada Kelly

Entrada Kelly, Erin. Blackbird Fly. Greenwillow, 03/2015. 296p. $16.99 978-0-06-223861-0. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 6-12. Apple has always had a hard time fitting in; she just can’t seem to get along with her mom or her old friends. This story tells of … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Read-Alikes for “Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library’ by Chris Grabenstein

Read-alikes for Chris Grabenstein’s Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library: For ideas on using the book in a book discussion group, check out: http://www.chrisgrabenstein.com/kids/escape-from-mr-lemoncellos-library.php . Avi. Who Stole the Wizard of Oz? Berlin, Eric. The Puzzling World of Winston Breen. Bosch, … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Ann McGovern Dies, Books for Children on Alcoholism

Author Ann McGovern Dies: Picture book author/illustrator Ann McGovern has died at age 85 at her home in New York City. Her many books included folklore adaptations (such as Stone Soup), nonfiction, and picture books. For more information, see: http://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/childrens/childrens-authors/article/67761-obituary-ann-mcgovern.html?utm_source=Publishers+Weekly&utm_campaign=c1d8bf67c5-UA-15906914-1&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_0bb2959cbb-c1d8bf67c5-304449365Continue reading

Posted in Obituary | Tagged , , | Leave a comment