Monthly Archives: October 2015

Read-Alikes for Rick Riordan’s “Sword of Summer” Series

Read-Alikes for Rick Riordan’s new series, “The Sword of Summer,” which begins with Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Alice, Alex. Siegfried.  Anaker, John W. The Raven’s Ring Pin. Anders, Lou. Frostborn.  Armstrong, Kelley. Loki’s Wolves (the Blackwell Pages … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: What This Story Needs Is a Pig in a Wig

Virjan, Emma J. What This Story Needs Is a Pig in a Wig. Emma J. Virjan, Illus. Easy Reader. HarperCollins, 05/2015. [34]p. $9.99. 978-0-06-232724-6. OUTSTANDING. GRADES TODDLER-2. What this circular story needs is a reader, which shouldn’t be very hard … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Vera Williams Dies, Wordcraft Circle Awards Announced

Author/Ilustrator Vera B. Williams Dies at age 88: Vera B. Williams, author and illustrator of at least 17 children’s books, died on October 16, 2015 at age 88. She was also a peace activist, spending a month in a federal … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Obituary | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Drowned City – Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans by Don Brown

Brown, Don. Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans. Don Brown, Illus. Graphic Novel. Houghton, 2015. 96p. $18.99. 978-0-544-15777-4. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 4-8. The onslaught and aftermath of Hurricane Katrina’s devastating destruction of New Orleans is told in a graphic novel … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Fall Board Book Round-up, Part I

Fall Board Book Round-up, Part I As their older siblings go back to school, many babies and toddlers (and their caregivers) will be going back to the library for their own reading selections. In this month’s column, we will look … Continue reading

Posted in Board Book Round Up | Tagged | 2 Comments

October BayNews Posted on ACL Website

New ACL BayNews Posted: The October 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org . You will find the the first part of our Fall Board Book Round-up, … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL | Tagged | Leave a comment

National Book Award Nominees

National Book Awards Nominees Announced: The five nominees for the National Book Award, Young People’s Literature Category were announced on Oct. 14, 2015. The five are: The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin, Little Brown Bone Gap by Laura Ruby, … Continue reading

Posted in Awards | Tagged | Leave a comment