Monthly Archives: July 2013

Retro Reads

Blume, Judy. Tiger Eyes. Bradbury Press, 1981, 206p. Libraries may see tweens and teens requesting Tiger Eyes, a Judy Blume book from more than 30 years ago, because it was recently released as a new feature film.  Co-written and directed … Continue reading

Posted in Updates | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

Early Literacy Programming in the Digital Age

Infopeople recently held a free webinar on Early Literacy Programming in the Digital Age, presented by Cen Campbell and Genesis Hansen. Covering both research on interactive screen use by preschoolers with practical ideas for library programming that promotes positive screen … Continue reading

Posted in News, Professional Development, Programming Ideas | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Review of the Week

Stern, Rebecca and Brad Wolfe.  Breakfast on Mars: And 37 Other Delectable Essays.  Non-fic.  Roaring Brook, 2013. 224p. $16.99.  978-1-596437-37-1. HIGH ADDITIONAL.  PROFESSIONAL. Breakfast on Mars is a rare breed: an anthology of essays written for a tween audience. Rebecca … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged | Leave a comment

New Children’s Poet Laureate Kenn Nesbitt

The Poetry Foundation is pleased to announce that poet Kenn Nesbitt will serve as the next Children’s Poet Laureate: Consultant in Children’s Poetry to the Poetry Foundation. In awarding the $25,000 cash prize and two-year title, the Poetry Foundation aims … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged | Leave a comment

Marc Simont Dies, New BayNews, Free NASA Webinars

Marc Simont Dies: Caldecott Medal-winning illustrator Marc Simont died at age 97 at home in Cornwall, CT, on July 13, 2013.  Simont received the Caldecott Medal for illustrating A Tree Is Nice, written by Janice Udry, in 1957. Over 40 years later, … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, News, Obituary, Programming Ideas | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Nelson, Kadir.  Nelson Mandela.  Kadir Nelson, Illus. Non-fiction. K. Tegen, 2013. [32]p. $17.99, 978-0-06-178374-6, PLB $17.89, 978-0-06-178376-0.  ADDITIONAL. GRADES 1-3. Nelson Mandela is portrayed as an iconic figure in this picture book biography for younger readers that begins with Mandela’s … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-alikes for Kathryn Lasky’s “Wolves of the Beyond” Series

Read-alikes for Kathryn Lasky’s “Wolves of the Beyond” series: Lasky’s latest entry in this series is Star Wolf (Scholastic, 2013). This action-packed series features wolves that have special powers; this series is a spin-off of Lasky’s “The Guardians of Ga’hoole” … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | 1 Comment