Monthly Archives: September 2014

Read-alikes for Chris Colfer’s “The Land of Stories” series

Read-alikes for Chris Colfer’s “The Land of Stories” series. Bach, Shelby. Of Giants and Ice series. S&S, 2012. Baker, E.D. The Wide-Awake Princess series. Bloomsbury, 2010. Barnhill, Kelly. Iron Hearted Violet. Little Brown, 2012. Burt, Marissa. Storybound series. HarperCollins, 2012. … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Latino Heritage Faire, Joanne Rocklin at Arne Nixon Center

Latino Heritage Fair – San Francisco Public Library 100 Larkin St. (at Grove) (415) 557-4277 sfpl.org Saturday, October 11, 2014 • 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. San Francisco Main Library, Latino/Hispanic Community Meeting Room The fair will showcase the SF … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, News, San Francisco Public Library | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week – “Brown Girl Dreaming”

Woodson, Jacqueline. Brown Girl Dreaming.Non-fiction. Penguin, 2014. 336p. $16.99. 978-0-399-25251-8. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 5-8. Jacqueline Woodson shares her experience of growing up in the 1960s and 1970s through a series of poem vignettes. With the Civil Rights movement as backdrop, readers … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

ALSC Institute Shines in Oakland

Penny Peck introduces authors Tim Federle, Rita Williams-Garcia, Pamela Munoz-Ryan, and Gene Yang at the Breakfast for Bill, ALSC Institute in Oakland, CA,  Sept. 19, 2014. Oakland, CA was the site of the three-day ALSC Institute, a whirlwind of workshops, … Continue reading

Posted in Updates | 2 Comments

Review of the Week – Revolution by Deborah Wiles

Wiles, Deborah. Revolution. Fiction. Sixties Trilogy Series. Scholastic, 2014. 495p. $19.99. 978-0-545-10607-8. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 5-9. Sunny, a 12-year-old white girl in 1964 Mississippi, is the main narrator of this thoughtful novel, describing the summer when Northern college students came to … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Rita Williams-Garcia at Mrs. Dalloway’s Sept. 19, Nat’l Book Award Long List

Rita Williams-Garcia at Mrs. Dalloway’s Bookstore on Sept. 19th: Newbery Honor author Rita Williams-Garcia will be at Mrs. Dalloway’s Bookstore on Friday, Sept. 19, 2014, at 7:30pm. She will be interviewed by Carla Riemer (ACL member and librarian at Claremont … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Professional Reading – “Wild Things: Acts of Mischief in Children’s Literature

Bird, Betsy, Julie Danielson and Peter D. Sieruta. Wild Things! Acts of Mischief in Children’s Literature. Candlewick, 2014. 278p. $22.99. ISBN 978-0-7636-5150-3. Most professional reading is instructive, but some books rise above that and are also filled with personal stories … Continue reading

Posted in Out of the Ordinary, Professional Development | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment