Steiner and Figard Named Emerging Leaders, Shusterman Wins National Book Award, New BayNews Posted

SteinerALA Names Two ACL Members Emerging Leaders: Current Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California president Meredith Steiner has been named by the Association of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, as its 2016 Emerging Leader. She currently works at the San Francisco Public Library.

YALSA, the young adult librarians’ division of ALA, also named an ACL member as their Emerging Leader – Kayla Marie Figard: . Kayla is an ACL Dorothy Helfeld fellow, and works as a teen specialist at the Belmont library.

Shusterman Wins National Book Award: The National Book Awards were Challenger Deepannounced on November 18, 2015. The winner in the Young People’s Cateogory is Neal Shusterman for Challenger Deep, about a mentally ill teen who fantasizes about traveling to the deepest point on earth.

New ACL BayNews Posted: The November 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: . You will find the the second part of our Fall Board Book Round-up, Readalikes for R.L. Stine’s “Goosebumps,” new storytime themes on Rain and Snow, and the Sun and Moon, and much more.

Posted in Awards, Message from ACL, News, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Iron Rails, Iron Men

Iron Rails, Iron Men

Sandler, Martin W. Iron Rails, Iron Men, and the Race to Link the Nation: The Story of the Transcontinental Railroad. Non-fiction. Candlewick, 09/2015. 212p. $22.99. 978-0-7636-6527-2. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 7-12.

An expansive, dramatic photo-filled book design and an engaging, dynamic text combine to make this an essential book on the building of the Transcontinental Railroad in the U.S., which is also a popular topic in California history. Sandler begins with a chapter on the founding of the Central Pacific, which was started in Sacramento by Theodore Judah. Following chapters alternate between the Central Pacific and the Union Pacific, which began in Missouri and forged west to finally join in Utah. The narrative mirrors the momentum and speed needed by each company to surmount so many obstacles, and the author deftly describes the plight of the Chinese workers and the Native American groups that were displaced. The wealth of b&w photos, maps, sidebars, short biographies, and other embellishments both add information and break up the text. Back matter includes a timeline, index, source notes, and bibliography. Many libraries in Northern California may discover adult patrons checking out the book, due to local interest such as the Strobridge House in Castro Valley or fans of the AMC television series Hell on Wheels.

Penny Peck, San Jose State Univ, iSch


Posted in Review of the Week, Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Gift Ideas from Oakland PL, New Infopeople Course on Storytime

Global baby bedtimesOakland PL Offers Gift Suggestions: For the first time, Oakland Public Library is offering suggestions for parents and others looking for holiday gift book titles for children. Check out their blog if you have patrons needing ideas for books to purchase for holiday gifts:

Infopeople Offers New Storytime Course: Infopeople is offering a new Crash Course Storycourse, “Storytime Fundamentals: Adding Literacy Skills and Parent Involvement to Storytime,” taught by Penny Peck, author of Crash Course in Storytime Fundamentals: Second Edition. Along with some storytime basics, participants will also explore the use of technology (such as apps and online book databases) during storytimes, and incorporating more parental involvement and the Five Parent Practices at storytimes. For more information, registration, costs, and other details, see:

Posted in Professional Development, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Author of BOOK SCAVENGER to Speak at San Francisco’s North Beach Branch Nov. 21

Book Scav

North Beach Library
850 Columbus Avenue (at Lombard)
San Francisco, CA   94133
Posted in News, San Francisco Public Library | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

ALSC Webinar on Picture Book Challenges, Publishers’ Weekly Names Best of 2015

picturebooksALSC Webinar on Picture Books and Challenges – Dealing with Controversial Topics in Children’s Collections: . This webinar on censorship is scheduled for Wed. Nov. 18, 2015 at 11am Pacific time. Go to the website to register for this webinar – $20 for ALA members, free to members of the GLBT and Intellectual Freedom Roundtables. Presenters include Carolyn Caywood and Peter D. Coyl.

Publishers’ Weekly Announces Best Children’s Books of 2015: Check out PWBestPublishers’ Weekly magazine’s choices for best children’s book for 2015 –

Posted in Awards, Professional Development | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: MARS EVACUEES by Sophia McDougall

Mars EvacueesMcDougall, Sophia. Mars Evacuees. Fiction. Mars Evacuees Series, Bk. 1. HarperCollins, 02/2015. 404p. $16.99. 978-0-06-229399-2. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 5-8

Narrated with entertainingly British self-deprecation and sangfroid by twelve-year-old Alice Dare, this intelligent and thought-provoking middle grade novel uses a science-fiction setting to mirror contemporary concerns. After Earth has been invaded, Alice and three hundred other kids are evacuated to Mars for safety. But when all the adults disappear from their base, the kids quickly form into warring factions, and Alice and her new friends, Filipino Australian brothers Carl and Noel, and Anglo African Josephine, are in the minority. Along with Goldfish, a hilariously self-important robot teacher, they decide to journey across unknown terrain to find another human base, using their ingenuity to “MacGyver” their way over obstacles and through alien attacks. Much of life on Mars and on the battle-torn Earth will be completely recognizable to 2015 kids: the main characters are beautifully drawn individuals, and their relationships with peers and family feel utterly authentic and familiar, while school hasn’t changed its essence one jot. Similarly, the central theme of Mars Evacuees is a futuristic twist on a current dilemma: how to react to the “other.” Should they be attacked or empathized with? This novel will have broad appeal, and the sequel, already published to great reviews in the U.K., will be eagerly awaited.

Hayley Beale, San Francisco Univ High School

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Attend the ACL meeting Friday, Nov. 13, 2015 at Oakland Main Library

CLA 2015ACL Meeting Friday, November 13, 2015:  Just a quick reminder for our Bay Area members!  Please join us for our ACL Meeting on Friday, November 13, 2015, from 9am-12:30pm at the Oakland Main Library.   We will have our usual Book Reviewing and a discussion of Distinguished Books. We will also have a Professional Development round-table, sharing what we saw at last week’s California Library Association Conference in Pasadena. If you attended the CLA Conference last week, please plan to share the favorite program, workshop, or event you attended. For more information, see:

Posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL | Tagged | Leave a comment