Monthly Archives: November 2014

Review of the Week: “The Fourteenth Goldfish”

Holm, Jennifer L. The Fourteenth Goldfish. Fiction.  Random, 2014. 208p. $16.99 978-0-375-87064-4, PLB $19.99 978-0-375-97064-1. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 3-7. Ellie’s mom brings home a 13-year-old relative from the police station. He turns out to be Ellie’s scientist grandfather who has discovered … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Kirkus “Best” Lists, Fall Board Book Round-up Part 3

Kirkus Announces “Best Children’s Books of 2014”: Kirkus Reviews announced their choices for the best books for children of 2014, organizing the list into 11 categories. These include “Best Informational Picture Books,” “Best Pictures Books to Start a Conversation,” and … Continue reading

Posted in Board Book Round Up | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Woodson Wins Nat’l Book Award, 2015 Summer Reading, SLJ’s Best List

Jacqueline Woodson Wins National Book Award: Jacqueline Woodson’s memoir in verse, Brown Girl Dreaming, won in the Young People’s Literature category at the 65th National Book Awards on November 19, 2014. Ursula Le Guin received a lifetime achievement award and … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News, Programming Ideas | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Reading Levels, November BayNews, Review of the Week

Mary Ann Scheuer’s “Great Kid Books” blog has a very informative post on reading levels, and using them to motivate children to read. Check it out! http://greatkidbooks.blogspot.com/2014/11/reading-levels-using-them-to-help-kids.html New ACL BayNews Posted: The November 2014 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, News, Review of the Week | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

R.A. Mongomery Dies, Kirkus Prize Announced

Author R.A. Montgomery of “Choose Your Own Adventure” Books Dies: R.A. Montgomery, publisher and sometime author of the “Choose Your Own Adventure” series of novels for grades 3-5 has died at age 78, at his home in Vermont. Montgomery started … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Obituary | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Read-alikes: “Choose Your Own Adventures”

Read-alikes for the “Choose Your Own Adventure” series by various authors: Borgenicht, David. “Worst Case Scenario: Ultimate Adventure” series. Chronicle Books. 2011-2012 – http://www.chroniclebooks.com/worstcasejunior/ . Gutman, Dan. “My Weird School” series. HarperCollins, 2004-2015 – http://www.myweirdclassroomclub.com/my-weird-school-books . Korman, Gordon. “Dive” trilogy. … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: “Stubby”

Bausum, Ann. Stubby: The True Story of World War I’s Bravest Dog. Non-fiction.  National Geographic, 2014. 72p. $17.99. 978-1-4263-1486-5. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 4-8. Initially, he hung around the U.S. Army training camp scrounging for food, but Stubby, a dog of “obscure … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

ACL Meeting Reminder, Publishers’ Weekly Best Books 2014

ACL Meeting Friday, November 14, 2014: Just a quick reminder for our Bay Area members! Please join us for our ACL Meeting on Friday, November 14, 2014, from 9am-1pm at the Oakland Main Library. We will have our usual Book … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Awards, Message from ACL, News | Tagged | Leave a comment

Outstanding!

Every month, we post an annotated bibliography of books that were rated ‘Outstanding’ and nominated for our Distinguished List at our previous month’s meeting. Members can see full reviews of these books and many more in the October edition of … Continue reading

Posted in Distinguished Nominations of the Month | Tagged | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for “Flora and Ulysses” by Kate DiCamillo

Read-alikes for Flora and Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo Baker, Kim. Pickle: The (Formerly) Anonymous Prank Club of Fountain Point Middle School. Ben starts a club to pull pranks on other sixth graders, while trying to evade capture by the middle … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment