Monthly Archives: November 2014

Review of the Week: “The Fourteenth Goldfish”

Holm, Jennifer L. The Fourteenth Goldfish. Fiction.  Random, 2014. 208p. $16.99 978-0-375-87064-4, PLB $19.99 978-0-375-97064-1. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 3-7. Ellie’s mom brings home a 13-year-old relative from the police station. He turns out to be Ellie’s scientist grandfather who has discovered … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Kirkus “Best” Lists, Fall Board Book Round-up Part 3

Kirkus Announces “Best Children’s Books of 2014”: Kirkus Reviews announced their choices for the best books for children of 2014, organizing the list into 11 categories. These include “Best Informational Picture Books,” “Best Pictures Books to Start a Conversation,” and … Continue reading

Posted in Board Book Round Up | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Woodson Wins Nat’l Book Award, 2015 Summer Reading, SLJ’s Best List

Jacqueline Woodson Wins National Book Award: Jacqueline Woodson’s memoir in verse, Brown Girl Dreaming, won in the Young People’s Literature category at the 65th National Book Awards on November 19, 2014. Ursula Le Guin received a lifetime achievement award and … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News, Programming Ideas | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Reading Levels, November BayNews, Review of the Week

Mary Ann Scheuer’s “Great Kid Books” blog has a very informative post on reading levels, and using them to motivate children to read. Check it out! http://greatkidbooks.blogspot.com/2014/11/reading-levels-using-them-to-help-kids.html New ACL BayNews Posted: The November 2014 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, News, Review of the Week | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

R.A. Mongomery Dies, Kirkus Prize Announced

Author R.A. Montgomery of “Choose Your Own Adventure” Books Dies: R.A. Montgomery, publisher and sometime author of the “Choose Your Own Adventure” series of novels for grades 3-5 has died at age 78, at his home in Vermont. Montgomery started … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Obituary | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Read-alikes: “Choose Your Own Adventures”

Read-alikes for the “Choose Your Own Adventure” series by various authors: Borgenicht, David. “Worst Case Scenario: Ultimate Adventure” series. Chronicle Books. 2011-2012 – http://www.chroniclebooks.com/worstcasejunior/ . Gutman, Dan. “My Weird School” series. HarperCollins, 2004-2015 – http://www.myweirdclassroomclub.com/my-weird-school-books . Korman, Gordon. “Dive” trilogy. … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: “Stubby”

Bausum, Ann. Stubby: The True Story of World War I’s Bravest Dog. Non-fiction.  National Geographic, 2014. 72p. $17.99. 978-1-4263-1486-5. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 4-8. Initially, he hung around the U.S. Army training camp scrounging for food, but Stubby, a dog of “obscure … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment