Monthly Archives: August 2012

Two ACL Members in Children and Libraries, Dorothy Helfeld Fellows Announced

Two ACL Members Contribute Articles to Children and Libraries: Congratulations to two of our ACL members who had articles published in the latest edition of Children and Libraries (Summer/Fall 2012, v. 10, no. 2), the journal of the Association of … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Newquist, H. P. The Book of Blood: From Legends and Leeches to Veins and Vampires.  Non-fiction. .Houghton, 2012. 1 51p.  $17.99.  978-0-5473-1584-3. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 4-9. It’s hard to find an individual who is blasé about blood. This elemental fluid has … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Do It Yourself Programming: Presidential Election

The upcoming Presidential election is a great opportunity for a fun Do-it-Yourself program, a display, a theme for a storytime or book discussion group, or for some passive programming activities you can leave out for families to enjoy. Here are … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment

Nina Bawden Obituary, Dav Pilkey Interview

Author Nina Bawden dies aged 87:  Author Nina Bawden, who wrote the novel Carrie’s War as well as more than 40 other books for children and adults, has died aged 87.  Published in 1973, Carrie’s War was her most famous … Continue reading

Posted in News, Obituary | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Graham, Bob. A Bus Called Heaven. Bob Graham, Illus.  Pic. Bk. Candlewick, 2012. 40p. $16.99. 978-0-7636-5893-9.     HIGH ADDITIONAL.    GRADES K-2. Bob Graham creates a heartfelt story about a neighborhood united over transforming an abandoned bus into a lively community center. … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

New BayNews – Presidential Program

Hi!  The latest edition of BayNews is up on the BayViews website:  http://www.bayviews.org .  Check out Readalikes for “Junie B. Jones,” storytimes on teachers, presidents, and the first day of school, and do-it-yourself program ideas on the Presidential Election. http://bayviews.org/baynews.htmlContinue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment

Obituaries and News

Remy Charlip Dies at Age 83: Remy Charlip died at the age of 83 in his longtime San Francisco home.  He was the author and illustrator of several picture books, including Fortunately ((1964), Sleepytime Rhyme (1999), and Handtalk (1974). He … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News, Obituary | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment