Monthly Archives: May 2015

Final “Amelia” book from Marissa Moss, Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards Announced

Marissa Moss Finishes “Amelia’s Notebook” Series: Marissa Moss announced that she will conclude the popular tween fictional journal series featuring Amelia, who has appeared in books over the past 20 years, which have sold more than five million copies. The … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: It’s Only Stanley

Agee, Jon. It’s Only Stanley. Jon Agee, Illus. Picture. Book. Dial/Penguin, 03/2015. [32]p. $17.9.9 978-0-8037-3907-9.  OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-2. The title serves as the refrain for this rhyming picture book featuring the Wimbledon family with a patriarch who grossly underestimates the … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Professional Reading: Sticky Fingers: DIY Duct Tape Projects

Professional Reading:  Maletsky, Sophie. Sticky Fingers: DIY Duct Tape Projects. Zest Books, 2013. $16.99. ISBN 978-1-936976-54-6. Check the young adult nonfiction area of your library and you may find you already own this wonderful resource. In fact, you might want … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged , | Leave a comment

STEAM Do-It-Yourself Programming Ideas

Do-It-Yourself Program Ideas:  Hands-on STEAM for Kids STEAM, or Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math, is currently a dominant theme in education. Libraries can hold entertaining STEAM programming, offering many different experiences for a wide age group. Here are some … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Red: A Crayon’s Story

Hall, Michael. Red: A Crayon’s Story. Michael Hall, Illus. Picture Book. Greenwillow, 02/2015. [37]p. $17.99. 978-0-06-225207-4, PLB $18.89 978-0-06-225209-8. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-3. Red is a crayon who is clearly blue, but no one is able to see his true color … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

ACL Members Elected, Jane Addams Awards, New BayNews Posted

Congratulations to our members who were elected to ALA offices! The following members of the Association of Children’s Librarians (of Northern California) were recently elected to ALA Office or Committees! Help us congratulate them! *Pat Toney, ALA Council *Erica Dean … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Message from ACL | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for Novels in the Form of Emails/Texts/Blogs (revised):

Read-Alikes for Tween and Teen Books Written in the Form of Emails/Texts/Blogs (revised): Amato, Mary. The Naked Mole-rat Letters. Anderson, Jodi Lynn. Loser/Queen. Bancks, Tristan. Mac Slater Hunts the Cool. Bell, Cathleen D. Little Blog on the Prairie. Black, Becca. … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Place Hacking – Venturing Off Limits

Rosen, Michael J. Place Hacking: Venturing Off Limits. Non-fiction. 21st Century, 2015. 72p. PLB $33.32.  978-1-4677-2515-6. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 8-12. Exploration is difficult today, unless one is willing to leave the planet, but place hacking (defined as going where one is … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged | Leave a comment

Anne Izard Storytellers’ Choice Awards

The Anne Izard Storytellers’ Choice Awards Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of the 12th biennial Awards. The awards will be presented in a ceremony on Tuesday, June 16, 2015, at the White Plains (New York) Public Library. The … Continue reading

Posted in Awards | Tagged | Leave a comment

Caldecott Medalist Marcia Brown Dies at Age 96

Caldecott Medalist Marcia Brown Dies at Age 96: Marcia Brown died at home in Laguna Hills, California at age 96 on April 28, 2015.. Her longtime companion an editor Janet Loranger announced Brown’s passing. Brown received three Caldecott Medals, six … Continue reading

Posted in Obituary | Tagged | Leave a comment