Monthly Archives: April 2014

Review of the Week

Kulkin, Susan. Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out. Susan Kulkin, Illus. Non-fic. Candlewick, 2014. 182p. $22.99 978-0-7636-5611-9 OUTSTANDING GRADES 8-ADULT Kulkin presents the reader with an opportunity to hear the thoughtful and heartfelt reflections of six transgender teens as they … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Author Herb Wong Dies, Northern Calif. Book Awards

Menlo Park Author Herb Wong Dies: Herb Wong died on April 20, 2014 at the age of 88. A Bay Area native, Wong was a journalist and expert on jazz, but also wrote several children’s books. Wong had a master’s … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Obituary | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Reissues and New Editions: Lobel, Arnold. Frog and Toad: Storybook Treasury. Illustrated by Arnold Lobel. HarperCollins, 2014. $11.99. ISBN 978-0-06-229258-2.  Often these compilation volumes don’t really work, but this may be the exception that proves the rule. Containing the four … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Eliza Dresang Obituary, Read-Alikes for Gary Paulsen’s “Lawn Boy”

Librarian Eliza Dresang Dies:  Librarian Eliza Dresang, author of Radical Change: Books for Youth in a Digital Age (Wilson, 1999) died April 21, 2014 from cancer. She was a professor of library science at the University of Washington, and a popular … Continue reading

Posted in Obituary, Read-alikes | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“Tree Lady” Wins Beatty, Sue Townsend Dies, New BayNews Posted

The Tree Lady by H. Joseph Hopkins selected for 2014 CLA Beatty Award: The Tree Lady, written by H. Joseph Hopkins and illustrated by Jill McElmurry, has been selected by the California Library Association (CLA) to receive its prestigious Beatty … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Message from ACL, News, Obituary | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Review of the Week

Rylant, Cynthia. Mr. Putter and Tabby Drop the Ball. Arthur Howard, Illus. Easy Reader.  Mr. Putter & Tabby Series. Harcourt, 2013. [44]p. $14.99. 978-0-15-205072-6, PB $5.99 978-0-54-434115-9. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 1-3. Mr. Putter and his cat, Tabby, love to nap, but … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Retro Reads: “Figgs & Phantoms” by Ellen Raskin

Raskin, Ellen. Figgs & Phantoms. Dutton, 1974. 176p. $16.99, ISBN 0525423672. Ellen Raskin is best known for her Newbery Medal winning mystery The Westing Game, but her lesser known novel Figgs & Phantoms is just as much fun. This year … Continue reading

Posted in Updates | Tagged , , | Leave a comment