Monthly Archives: April 2014

Review of the Week

Kulkin, Susan. Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out. Susan Kulkin, Illus. Non-fic. Candlewick, 2014. 182p. $22.99 978-0-7636-5611-9 OUTSTANDING GRADES 8-ADULT Kulkin presents the reader with an opportunity to hear the thoughtful and heartfelt reflections of six transgender teens as they … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Author Herb Wong Dies, Northern Calif. Book Awards

Menlo Park Author Herb Wong Dies: Herb Wong died on April 20, 2014 at the age of 88. A Bay Area native, Wong was a journalist and expert on jazz, but also wrote several children’s books. Wong had a master’s … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Obituary | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Reissues and New Editions: Lobel, Arnold. Frog and Toad: Storybook Treasury. Illustrated by Arnold Lobel. HarperCollins, 2014. $11.99. ISBN 978-0-06-229258-2.  Often these compilation volumes don’t really work, but this may be the exception that proves the rule. Containing the four … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Eliza Dresang Obituary, Read-Alikes for Gary Paulsen’s “Lawn Boy”

Librarian Eliza Dresang Dies:  Librarian Eliza Dresang, author of Radical Change: Books for Youth in a Digital Age (Wilson, 1999) died April 21, 2014 from cancer. She was a professor of library science at the University of Washington, and a popular … Continue reading

Posted in Obituary, Read-alikes | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“Tree Lady” Wins Beatty, Sue Townsend Dies, New BayNews Posted

The Tree Lady by H. Joseph Hopkins selected for 2014 CLA Beatty Award: The Tree Lady, written by H. Joseph Hopkins and illustrated by Jill McElmurry, has been selected by the California Library Association (CLA) to receive its prestigious Beatty … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Message from ACL, News, Obituary | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Review of the Week

Rylant, Cynthia. Mr. Putter and Tabby Drop the Ball. Arthur Howard, Illus. Easy Reader.  Mr. Putter & Tabby Series. Harcourt, 2013. [44]p. $14.99. 978-0-15-205072-6, PB $5.99 978-0-54-434115-9. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 1-3. Mr. Putter and his cat, Tabby, love to nap, but … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Retro Reads: “Figgs & Phantoms” by Ellen Raskin

Raskin, Ellen. Figgs & Phantoms. Dutton, 1974. 176p. $16.99, ISBN 0525423672. Ellen Raskin is best known for her Newbery Medal winning mystery The Westing Game, but her lesser known novel Figgs & Phantoms is just as much fun. This year … Continue reading

Posted in Updates | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Schneider, Josh. Bedtime Monsters.  Josh Schneider, Illus.  Picture Book.  Clarion, 2013.  [32]p. $16.99.  978-0-544-00270-8.  OUTSTANDING.  GRADES PRE-2. Theodor Seuss Geisel Award-winner Schneider has created the perfect book for any child who is terrified of monsters hiding under the bed. Four … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

ACL Meeting Friday, April 11, 2014, Bay Area Storytelling Fest May 17-18

ACL Meeting Friday, April 11, 2014:  Just a quick reminder for our Bay Area members!  Please join us for our ACL Meeting on Friday, April 11, 2014, from 9am–1pm at the Oakland Main Library.   We will have our usual Book … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

LaTronica Named Nat’l Book Award Judge, McLimans and Townsend Obituaries, 2013 ACL Distinguished List

Starr LaTronica Named National Book Award Judge: Starr LaTronica has been named a judge for the Young People’s Literature panel for the 2014 National Book Awards. LaTronica is currently the president of the Association for Library Service to Children, a … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Distinguished Nominations of the Month, Obituary | Tagged , , | Leave a comment