Monthly Archives: December 2014

Review of the Week

Barnett, Mac. Sam and Dave Dig a Hole. Jon Klassen, Illus. Picture Book. Candlewick, 2014. [42]p. $16.99. 978-0-7636-6229-5. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-3. In this humorous tale, we see two friends and their dog dig and dig and dig in the hopes … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Booklist’s Best List and other End-of-the-Year Best Children’s Books

Looking for more end-of-the-year lists of Best Children’s Books? Linda Perkins recommends the Chicken Spaghetti website for a handy list of all the “bests” and awards: http://chickenspaghetti.typepad.com/chicken_spaghetti/ . Also check out Booklist’s Editors’ Choice: http://www.booklistonline.com/. Susan Faust of the San … Continue reading

Posted in Awards | Tagged | Leave a comment

Author Robert San Souci Dies

Robert San Souci Dies: Noted folklorist and children’s author Robert San Souci died on Dec. 19, 2014 after a fall and head injury. This Bay Area author often collaborated with his brother Daniel San Souci, who would illustrate Robert’s books. … Continue reading

Posted in Obituary | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week –

Kanefield, Teri. Girl from the Tar Paper School: Barbara Rose Johns and the Advent of the Civil Rights Movement. Non-fiction. Abrams, 2013. 56p. $19.95. 978-1-4197-0796-4. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 4-8. In 1951, a high school junior named Barbara Rose Johns led her … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for Alexander’s “Chronicles of Prydain” Series

Check out ACL’s new Read-Alikes page on our website: http://bayviews.org/readalikes.html We have rearranged the index into three parts: author, book title, and subject/series. It is easier to use and to find things. Please give it a look! Read-alikes for Lloyd … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Norman Bridwell Dies, New ACL BayNews Posted

Norman Bridwell Dies at age 86: Author Norman Bridwell, creator of “Clifford, the Big Red Dog,” has died in Martha’s Vineyard. “Clifford,” published by Scholastic, was created in 1963 and quickly became a popular book with young readers, and later … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, Obituary | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Jacob’s New Dress

Hoffman, Sarah. Jacob’s New Dress. Chris Case, Illus. Picture Book. A. Whitman, 2014. [32]p. $16.99. 978-0-8075-6363-1. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-2. One of Jacob’s favorite things to do at school is to put on dresses in the “dress-up corner.” After wearing a … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , , | Leave a comment