Monthly Archives: June 2015

ALA Conference Report, Part 1 – San Francisco Celebrates!

ALA Conference in San Francisco – Reports from Our Members: The ALA Conference in San Francisco kicked off big-time on Friday with the news of the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision on marriage equality. The positive vibe continued throughout the four … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged | 1 Comment

Author Judith St. George Dies, Mo Willems Sketchbooks

Author Judith St. George Dies: Author Judith St. George has died at age 84 at her home in Bloomfield, CT. Her many books included So You Want to Be President?, which earned illustrator David Small the Caldecott Medal. She specialized … Continue reading

Posted in News, Obituary | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week : Moonpenny Island

Springstubb, Tricia. Moonpenny Island. Gilbert Ford, Illus. Fiction. Balzer & Bray, 02/2015. 292p. $16.99. 978-0-06-211293-4. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 4-6. Set on Moonpenny Island, “a dot, a titch, a pinch” in Lake Erie, this tale of friendship, fossils, and forgiveness is exquisitely … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Do-It-Yourself Program Ideas: Robots at the Library

Do-It-Yourself Program Ideas “Robots at the Library!” is a great program you can hold at almost any size library, and at any time of year. The program features robot demonstrations and hands-on projects, geared to different age groups to introduce … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment

New ACL BayNews, Bay Area Publishing, Motivating Reading, and LGBTQ List

New ACL BayNews Posted: The June 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org You will find the second part of our Spring Board Book Round-up, Read-alikes for … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, News | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: The Boys Who Challenged Hitler

Hoose, Phillip. The Boys Who Challenged Hitler: Knud Pedersen and the Churchill Club. Non-fiction. Farrar, 05/2015. 208p. $19.99. 978-0-374-30022-7. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 6-10. This riveting non-fiction account of a little known piece of WW II history tells how a group of … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for John Green’s Paper Towns

Read-Alikes for Paper Towns by John Green, (soon to be released as a feature film of the same title): Armentrout, Jennifer L. Don’t Look Back. Asher, Jay. Thirteen Reasons Why. Brooks, Kevin. Black Rabbit Summer. Chbosky, Stephen. The Perks of … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment