Monthly Archives: September 2012

Three Upcoming Author Events

The San Francisco Public Library presents “An Evening with Lois Lowry” on Tuesday, October 9, 2012, 6pm at the Koret Auditorium at the San Francisco Main Library, 100 Larkin St.. Lowry is a two-time Newbery Medalist, and will be speaking … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

DeCristofano, Carolyn Cinami. A Black Hole Is Not a Hole.  Michael Carroll, Illus.  Non-fic. Charlesbridge, 2012. 74p. $18.95 978-1-570-91783-7. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 5-8. A graceful, engaging narrative explains the nature and types of black holes, their origins, ideas and theories that … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

“Diary of a Wimpy Kid” Programming Ideas

The “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series by Jeff Kinney is still popular with readers grades 3-6, and a program based on the books is sure to be well attended, especially by boys. Here are some ideas adapted from Sarah … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged | 1 Comment

Zombie Programming Ideas

“Vampires are out – Zombies are in!”  Or so I was told by a tween recently.  Here are some Zombie programming ideas, probably best suited to those 10 years old and up, as most Zombie books fall into the Young … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Lane, Andrew. Rebel Fire.  Fic. .Sherlock Holmes, The Legend Begins Series. Farrar, 2012. 343p. $16.99 978-0-374-38768-6.  OUTSTANDING. GRADES 5-10. In this second entry in the series Sherlock Holmes, the Legend Begins, 14-year-old Sherlock, his tutor Crowe and Crowe’s daughter Virginia … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Free Webinar on Storytime

Please let your staff and colleagues know about this FREE event! Title: What’s New for Storytimes Presenter: Penny Peck Format: Webinar Date: Wednesday, October 3, 2012 Start Time: 12 Noon Pacific 1PM Mountain 2PM Central 3PM Eastern This webinar will … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged | Leave a comment

NPR’s Best Teen Books List

Thought this story from NPR might be of interest to readers. http://www.npr.org/2012/08/07/157795366/your-favorites-100-best-ever-teen-novels and http://www.npr.org/blogs/ombudsman/2012/09/10/160768675/when-a-popular-list-of-100-best-ever-teen-books-is-the-whitest-ever Submitted by Helen Block

Posted in Media Watch, News | Tagged , | Leave a comment