Monthly Archives: September 2013

Palo Alto Exhibit on Libraries and Art

The Palo Alto Art Center presents Bibliophilia, an exhibition featuring drawings, paintings, and sculptural works by artists who are united by their love of books and libraries. Bibliophilia showcases the work of fourteen artists who use discarded books as raw materials, … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged | Leave a comment

Do-It-Yourself Program Ideas: History Day

History programs are appropriate for Founders’ Day, your library’s anniversary, or other related holiday (or anytime!).  Just like museums that create living history programs, libraries can have fun history programs with great games and arts and crafts. If you need … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged | 1 Comment

Review of the Week

Choldenko, Gennifer. Al Capone Does My Homework: A Tale from Alcatraz.  Fiction. Dial, 2013. 224p. $17.99.  978-0-8037-3472-2. OUTSTANDING.  GRADES 5-8. Moose Flanagan’s dad has been promoted to associate warden and thus become a target. When an unexplained fire is pinned … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for “Shakespeare” Inspired Novels

Read-alikes for “The Shakespeare Stealer” by Gary Blackwood: novels set at the time of Shakespeare. Ballantine, Philippa. Chasing the Bard. Blackwood, Gary. Shakespeare’s Scribe. Blackwood, Gary. Shakespeare’s Spy. Cheaney, J.B.  The Playmaker. Cooney, Caroline. Enter Three Witches. Cooper, Susan. King … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Storytime Outreach, National Book Awards, CLA Food Drive, New BayNews Posted

Bringing Storytime to the Long Wait for Social Services Check out this great story on the Oakland Public Library’s children’s librarians offering storytime at social service agencies, such as Eastmont Town Center: http://kalw.org/post/bringing-storytime-long-wait-social-services. Congratulations to Amy Martin and others who … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Schwartz, David. Rotten Pumpkin: A Rotten Tale in 15 Voices. Dwight Kuhn, Illus. Non-fic. Creston, 2013. 32p. $16.99. 978-1-939547-03-3. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-1. This non-fiction narrative uses the perspective of fifteen “voices” to tell the story of how a jack-o-lantern rots … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Board Book Round-up Pt. 2

Here are some more board book mini-reviews for Fall 2013: Series: Prince, April Jones. Dig In! Illus. by Michelle Berg. Abrams/Appleseed, 2013. $7.95. ISBN 978-1-4197-0522-9. Prince, April Jones. Dive In! Illus. by Michelle Berg. Abrams/Appleseed, 2013. $7.95. ISBN 978-1-4197-0523-6. These … Continue reading

Posted in Board Book Round Up | Leave a comment