Monthly Archives: January 2014

Rainbow List, O’Dell Award, Asian Pacific, American Indian, Amelia Bloomer, NCTE Orbis Awards

More Children’s and YA Book Awards Announced – Rainbow List GLBT 2014 Rainbow List:  http://glbtrt.ala.org/rainbowbooks/archives/1103 – Thirty books for children and teens that celebrate the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender community were selected. Titles noted with an asterisk are Top Ten … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Pete Seeger and Morrie Turner Obituaries

Noted Folklore Musician and Author Pete Seeger Dies Pete Seeger died on January 27, 2014 of natural causes at the age of 94.  The noted folk singer and musician was equally respected for his political activism as for his music.  … Continue reading

Posted in Obituary | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Printz, Seibert, Geisel, and Other ALA Book Awards

Continuing our announcement of book awards given by the American Library Association: Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults: Midwinterblood, ”written by Marcus Sedgwick, is the 2014 Printz Award winner. The book is published by Roaring … Continue reading

Posted in Awards | Leave a comment

Newbery, Caldecott, and Other Youth Media Awards Announced at ALA

Newbery, Caldecott, and Other Youth Media Awards Announced at ALA From the press release from the American Library Association:  “The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults including the … Continue reading

Posted in Awards | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Newbery and Caldecott Awards Announced

Kate DiCamillo will receive the Newbery Medal for Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures (Candlewick, 2013), and Brian Floca will receive the Caldecott Medal for Locomotive (Atheneum, 2013).  These and other children’s and young adult book awards were announced this … Continue reading

Posted in Awards | Leave a comment

Read-alikes for Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Readalikes for Among the Hidden (The Shadow Children series) by Margaret Peterson Haddix:  These are all science fiction set in the near future: Applegate, Katherine. “Animorphs” series. Bawden, Nina. Off the Road. Beake, Lesley. Remembering Green. Christopher, John. The White … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Yang, Gene Luen. Boxers.  Gene Luen Yang, Illus. Graphic novel. Boxers and Saints Series.  First Second, 2013. 328p. $18.99.  978-1-59643-359-5. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 7-12 Yang, Gene Luen. Saints. Gene Luen Yang, Illus. Graphic novel.  Boxers and Saints Series. First Second, 2013. … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged | Leave a comment

Spanish Book Fair, Sydney Taylor Awards, Charlotte Zolotow Award

Bibliotecas Para La Gente is sponsoring  the 2014 Spanish Book Fair on Friday, February 14, 2014 from 9am to 4pm at the San Leandro Public Library, 300 Estudillo Ave., San Leandro, CA.  Spanish language books, DVDs, and CDS will be … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Pop-up and Flap Books

Sabuda, Robert. The Little Mermaid: a Pop-up Adaptation of the Classic Fairy Tale. Illus. by Robert Sabuda. S&S/Little Simon, 2013.  10p. $29.99. ISBN 978-1-4169-6080-5. Sabuda is king of the elaborate literary pop-up book, and this adaptation of the Hans Christian … Continue reading

Posted in Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Jewish Book Award Winners Announced

Jewish Book Award Winners Announced The 63rd annual Jewish Book Awards were announced on Jan. 15, 2014. These awards are given by the Jewish Book Council, in 17 categories. In the Children’s and YA category, the winner is The War … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged | Leave a comment