Monthly Archives: January 2014

Rainbow List, O’Dell Award, Asian Pacific, American Indian, Amelia Bloomer, NCTE Orbis Awards

More Children’s and YA Book Awards Announced – Rainbow List GLBT 2014 Rainbow List:  http://glbtrt.ala.org/rainbowbooks/archives/1103 – Thirty books for children and teens that celebrate the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender community were selected. Titles noted with an asterisk are Top Ten … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Pete Seeger and Morrie Turner Obituaries

Noted Folklore Musician and Author Pete Seeger Dies Pete Seeger died on January 27, 2014 of natural causes at the age of 94.  The noted folk singer and musician was equally respected for his political activism as for his music.  … Continue reading

Posted in Obituary | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Printz, Seibert, Geisel, and Other ALA Book Awards

Continuing our announcement of book awards given by the American Library Association: Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults: Midwinterblood, ”written by Marcus Sedgwick, is the 2014 Printz Award winner. The book is published by Roaring … Continue reading

Posted in Awards | Leave a comment

Newbery, Caldecott, and Other Youth Media Awards Announced at ALA

Newbery, Caldecott, and Other Youth Media Awards Announced at ALA From the press release from the American Library Association:  “The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults including the … Continue reading

Posted in Awards | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Newbery and Caldecott Awards Announced

Kate DiCamillo will receive the Newbery Medal for Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures (Candlewick, 2013), and Brian Floca will receive the Caldecott Medal for Locomotive (Atheneum, 2013).  These and other children’s and young adult book awards were announced this … Continue reading

Posted in Awards | Leave a comment

Read-alikes for Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Readalikes for Among the Hidden (The Shadow Children series) by Margaret Peterson Haddix:  These are all science fiction set in the near future: Applegate, Katherine. “Animorphs” series. Bawden, Nina. Off the Road. Beake, Lesley. Remembering Green. Christopher, John. The White … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Yang, Gene Luen. Boxers.  Gene Luen Yang, Illus. Graphic novel. Boxers and Saints Series.  First Second, 2013. 328p. $18.99.  978-1-59643-359-5. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 7-12 Yang, Gene Luen. Saints. Gene Luen Yang, Illus. Graphic novel.  Boxers and Saints Series. First Second, 2013. … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged | Leave a comment