Monthly Archives: March 2015

Read-Alikes for Kwame Alexander’s “The Crossover

Read-alikes for the 2015 Newbery Medal winner The Crossover by Kwame Alexander, (HMH, 2014) Abdul-Jabbar, Kareen. Sasquatch in the Paint. Abdul-Jabbar, Kareem. Stealing the Game.  Baskin, Nora Raleigh. Basketball (or Something Like It). Coates, Jan. Rocket Man. Feinstein, John. Last … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Leave a comment

Chris Raschka Event, Review of the Week

Chris Raschka To Speak at San Francisco Main Library: Two-time Caldecott Award winner Chris Raschka will give the 19th annual Effie Lee Morris Lecture at the San Francisco Main Library on Wednesday, April 8, 2015, at 6pm. This free event … Continue reading

Posted in News, Professional Development, Review of the Week, San Francisco Public Library | Leave a comment

ACL Institute Scholarships, Free Webinar on New Children’s Books, New ACL BayNews Posted

ACL Institute Scholarships: ACL has access to a small number of scholarships from generous ACL members to cover registrations to ACL Institute 2015. They can be partial scholarships or full scholarships, depending on the need. Please contact Meredith Steiner (mersteiner@me.com) … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Professional Development | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Meet Local Author Mike Graf

Meet a Local Author Mike Graf “Where we can get to know California authors and illustrators of books for children and teens.”  This issue, author Mike Graf was kind enough to do an interview by email. Q. Congratulations on recent … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: “Book the Library”

Brawner, Jessica. Booking the Library: A Guide for Entertainers, Musicians, Speakers & Authors. Story of the Month Club, 2015. $9.99 (paperback), ISBN 9780692350188. What do you wish library performers knew before they arrived at your library? No, there is no … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Leave a comment

Storytelling Festival, ACL Institute – still time to register!

Bay Area Storytelling Festival: The west coast’s oldest storytelling festival (since 1982!) has a new location – the Orinda Community Center- and a new date – April 24,25, 26, 2015! Featured tellers include Tim Tingle, an Oklahoma Choctaw teller and … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Professional Development | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Obituaries: Terry Pratchett, Margery Facklam

Sir Terry Pratchett died at age 66 from Alzheimer’s disease. Best know for the “Discworld” series of fantasy novels, Pratchett wrote for both adults and children. His first book for children, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents won Great … Continue reading

Posted in Obituary | Tagged , | Leave a comment