Monthly Archives: August 2014

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Anniversary, Elaine Alphin Obituary

Author Elaine Alphin Dies: San Francisco native Elaine Alphin, author of several young adult novels, died on Aug. 19, 2014 at age 58 after a long illness. Her first book, Ghost Cadet, was published by Holt in 1991, as was … Continue reading

Posted in News, Obituary | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week – Loot: How to Steal a Fortune

Watson, Jude. Loot: How to Steal a Fortune. Fiction. Scholastic, 2014. 272p. $16.99. 978-0-545-46802-2. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 5-8.     Trained by his father, a notorious cat burglar who dies in the opening scene, 12-year-old March McQuin puzzles over his father’s cryptic personal … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Do-I-Yourself Programming: Women of Character, Courage, and Committment

Do-It-Yourself Programming with Children’s Books on Women of Character, Courage, and Commitment Hands-on crafts and games are a great way to celebrate women in history. Instead of sounding like a history lesson, this interactive format can bring in a wide … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for Neil Gaiman’s “Fortunately, the Milk”

New Short Tween Novels – Read-alikes for Neil Gaiman’s Fortunately, the Milk Alexander, Kwame. The Crossover. Houghton, 2014. Angleberger, Tom. The Qwikpick Papers: Poop Fountain! Amulet, 2014. Brown, Skila. Caminar. Candlewick, 2014. Creech, Sharon. Boy on the Porch. Joanna Cotler … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week – A Piece of Cake

Pham, LeUyen. A Piece of Cake. LeUyen Pham, Illus. Picture Book.Balzer & Bray, 2014. 40p. $16.99. 978-0-06-199264-3.OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-1. Whatever you do, don’t show this story to the pack rats in yourlife. Mouse, generous to a fault, exchanges the birthday … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Leave a comment

Oakland Library Garden Project, Jordan Middle School Helps Libraries in Africa

Oakland Library and ACL Recognized in Article on Library Gardens: School Library Journal has an article in their August 2014 issue about library gardens, where children can learn about growing vegetables and good nutrition. “Dig It!” by Grace Hwang Lynch, … Continue reading

Posted in News | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for Lois Lowry’s The Giver

Read-alikes for Lois Lowry’s The Giver:  Albin, Gennifer. Crewel. Square Fish, 2013.  Booraem, Ellen. The Unnameables. Harcourt, 2008.  Brown, Rachel M. and Sherwood Smith. Stranger. Viking, 2014.  Collins, Suzanne. The Hunger Games. Scholastic, 2008.  Condie, Allyson Braithwaite. Matched. Dutton, 2010. … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment