Monthly Archives: September 2015

Review of the Week: The Way Home Looks Now by Wendy Wan-Long Shang

Shang, Wendy Wan-Long. The Way Home Looks Now. Fiction. Scholastic, 04/2015. 272p. $16.99. 978-0-545-60956-2. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 4-7. Twelve-year-old Peter recalls life before his older brother died in an automobile accident, before his mother became despondent, back when they rooted for … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for Holly Goldberg Sloan’s Counting by 7s

Read-Alikes for Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan      For ideas on using Counting by 7s in a book discussion group, check out: http://www.penguin.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/CountingBy7s_lessonplans_14-lowres.pdf Baskin, Nora R. Anything but Typical.  Bryant, Jennifer. Pieces of Georgia.  Carvell, Marlene. Who Will … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

BAYA Authors Panel Scheduled for Tuesday, October 27, 2015 in San Leandro

The Bay Area Young Adult Librarians will be holding their annual Authors Panel on Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2015 from 9am-Noon at the San Leandro Library, 300 Estudillo Ave., San Leandro, CA 94577. Scheduled authors include Printz Award winner Jandy Nelson, … Continue reading

Posted in Professional Development | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Pool by JiHyeon Lee

Lee, JiHyeon. Pool. Lee JiHyeon, Illus. Picture Book. Chronicle Books,  06/2015. [50]p. PLB $16.99. 978-1-4521-4294-4. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-5. In this wordless picture book, JiHyeon Lee’s delicate colored pencil drawings show a boy who is preparing to enter a swimming pool … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Professional Reading: WRITER TO WRITER by Gail Carson Levine

Levine, Gail Carson. Writer to Writer: From Think to Ink. Harper, 2015. 295p. $16.99. ISBN 978-0-06-227530-1. Adults and older high school students interested in writing fiction will enjoy this conversational follow-up to Levine’s earlier work, Writing Magic: Creating Stories That … Continue reading

Posted in Out of the Ordinary | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Reading While White Blog, Star Wars Reads Day, New BayNews from ACL

Reading While White Blog: A new blog, “Reading While White” debuted this week,   co-created by Nina Lindsay of the Oakland Public Library, along with Sam Bloom, Allie Jane Bruce, K.T. Horning, Angie Manfredi, and Megan Schliesman. Check out the blog … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, News | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: The Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste

Baptiste, Tracey. The Jumbies. Fiction. Algonquin, 04/2015. 240p. $15.95. 978-1-616-20414-3. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 3-5. The Jumbies is a modern take on Haitian folktales about the strange creatures who inhabit the forest. Eleven-year-old Afro Caribbean Corrine attracts the notice of an especially … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | 1 Comment