Monthly Archives: June 2013

Review of the Week

Fleischman, Paul.  Matchbox Diary.  Bagram Ibatouilline, Illus.  Fic. Candlewick, 2013.[36]p. $16.99.  978-0-7636-4601-1.  OUTSTANDING.  GRADES 1-ADULT. A grandfather meets his great-granddaughter for the first time. In his antique shop she brings him a cigar box filled with match boxes. Together they … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Activity Books for the Library

Angleberger, Tom. Art2-D2’s Guide to Folding and Doodling: 75+ Things to Fold, Draw, and Do! Amulet, 2013, 163p., $12.95, ISBN 978-1-4197-0534-2. Because the “Origami Yoda” novels are so popular, you may already have tweens requesting the book, Art2-D2’s Guide to … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

U.K.’s Carnegie and Greenaway Medals Announced

The winners of the 2013 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals were announced on June 19, 2013, at a ceremony at the Natural History Museum in London. The U.K.’s most prestigious prizes for children’s books were won by Sally Gardner … Continue reading

Posted in Awards | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Cheng, Andrea.  Etched in Clay: The Life of Dave, Enslaved Potter and Poet.‡ Andrea Cheng, Illus.  Non-fic.  Lee & Low, 2013. 143p. $17.95. 978-1-6006-0451-5. OUTSTANDING.  GRADES 3-ADULT. In this terrific biography-in-verse, Andrea Cheng gives us a powerful portrait of an … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-alikes for “Septimus Heap” series by Angie Sage

Read-alikes for the “Septimus Heap” series by Angie Sage: Sage has just completed this seven volume series with Fyre (K. Tegen Books, 2013), which is a fantasy series with magic and wizards. Barron, T.A. Merlin’s Dragon series. Blackwood, Sage. Jinx. … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Do-It-Yourself Program Ideas: Caldecott Medal Celebration!

This year is the 75th anniversary of the Caldecott Medal, awarded to the illustrator for the best artwork in a children’s book:  http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/caldecottmedal/caldecottmedal . This is a perfect opportunity to have a fun Caldecott Celebration at your library!  You can … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Review of the Week

Bean, Jonathan. Building Our House. Jonathan Bean, Illus. Pic. Bk. Farrar, 2013. [42]p. $17.99. 978-0-374-38023-6. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-4 In detailed and affectionate words and illustrations, Bean documents his family’s adventures as they build a house—and their own family. There is … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment