Monthly Archives: December 2015

Review of the Week: Kenneth Oppel’s “The Nest”

Oppel, Kenneth. Nest, The . Jon Klassen, Illus. Fiction. Simon & Schuster, 10/2015. 244p. $16.99. 978-1-4814-3232-0. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 5-8. His parents spend most of their time caring for their seriously ill infant, so Steven must deal with his fears and … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Meet Author Matilde Hollander

Meet a Local Author – “Where we can get to know California authors and illustrators of books for children and teens.” Author Matilde Hollander was kind enough to do an interview by email. Hollander, Matilde. My Five Senses: Second Edition. … Continue reading

Posted in News, Programming Ideas, Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Book Itch

  Nelson, Vaunda Micheaux. Book Itch: Freedom, Truth, and Harlem’s Greatest Bookstore, The. Gregory Christie, Illus. Non-fiction. Carolrhoda, 10/2015. [36]pp. $17.99. 978-0-7613-3943-4. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 2-5. A picture book presentation of the same Harlem bookstore owner as No Crystal Stair (2012), … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

New ACL BayNews Posted

New ACL BayNews Posted: The December 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org. You will find reviews of the latest Pop-up books, Read-alikes for Fractured Fairytales, new … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, News, Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment

1,000 Books Before Kindergarten Programs

 Do-It-Yourself Program Ideas – 1,000 Books Before Kindergarten This month’s column is somewhat out of the ordinary; usually we offer outlines of craft and game programs based on a theme. But this month, we want to celebrate a new programming … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas, Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment

Booklist’s Best, Author Peter Dickinson Dies, Reissues and New Editions

Booklist’s Best Books for Youth: Booklist magazine has named its best books for young people for 2015:  www.booklistonline.com/Booklist-Editors-Choice-Books-for-Youth-2015/pid=7944842 Author Peter Dickinson Dies: British author Peter Dickinson has died at age 88. Known for his many novels and mysteries for adult … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Obituary, Out of the Ordinary, Updates | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Waiting by Kevin Henkes

Henkes, Kevin. Waiting. Kevin Henkes, Illus. Pic. Bk. Greenwillow, 09/2015. [32]pp. $17.99. 978-0-06-236843-0. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-2. Five toys wait on a windowsill: a pig with an umbrella, a spotted owl, a puppy on a sled, a bear, and a rabbit. … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week, Updates | Tagged , | 1 Comment