Monthly Archives: January 2015

NCTE Huck Award, Margaret Bloy Graham, Meal Program Workshop

Rain Reign Named Charlotte Huck Award Winner: Rain Reign by Ann M Martin, (Feiwel, 2014) was named the NCTE Charlotte Huck Award for Fiction recipient. For more information, see: http://www.ncte.org/awards/charlotte-huck . Illustrator Margaret Bloy Graham Dies: Margaret Bloy Graham has … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News, Obituary | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Viva Frida

Morales, Yuyi. Viva Frida. Yuyi Morales, Illus. Pic. Bk. Roaring Brook, 2014. [32]p. $17.99. 978-1-59643-603-9. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-3. Lush visuals created by stop-motion puppets, acrylic paints, and digital manipulation transport the reader into the lyrical life of the iconic artist … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-alikes for 2015 Summer Reading Program “Every Hero Has a Story”

READ-ALIKES: 2015 Summer Reading Program “Every Hero Has a Story” For Little Ones (ages two – five) Buehner, Caralyn. Dex: The Heart of a Hero. Chabon, Michael. The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man. Cottringer, Anne. Eliot Jones, Midnight Superhero. David, … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: The Iridescence of Birds

MacLachlan, Patricia. The Iridescence of Birds: A Book About Henri Matisse. Hadley Hooper, Illus. Non-fiction. Roaring Brook, 2014. 42p. $17.99. 978-1-59643-948-1. OUTSTANDING. GRADES K-3. Patricia MacLachlan’s gift for whittling prose to its essential conveyance of ideas and feelings works harmoniously … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Bonnie Christiansen Dies, Sydney Taylor Awards Announced

Author/Illustrator Bonnie Christiansen Dies Author/Illustrator Bonnie Christiansen died on January 12, 2015 at age 63 due to ovarian cancer. Many of her books were picture book biographies or other factual picture books for elementary school-age children, including Woody Guthrie: Poet … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Obituary | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Spanish Language Bookfair, Friday, Feb. 13, 2015

Spanish Language Bookfair: Friday, February 13, 2015 is the date for the Spanish Language Bookfair cosponsored by the Daly City Public Library and Bibliotecas Para La Gente (BPLG), the Northern California chapter of REFORMA. The bookfair will take place from … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged | Leave a comment

January BayNews Posted, “Frozen” Programming Ideas

New ACL BayNews Posted: The January 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org . You will find ideas for programming, Readalikes for Hero stories, new storytime themes … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, News, Programming Ideas | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: “Neighborhood Sharks”

Roy, Katherine. Neighborhood Sharks: Hunting With the Great Hunters of California’s Farallon Islands. Katherine Roy, Illus. Non-fic. Roaring Brook, 2014. [44]p. $17.99. 978-1-59643-874-3. OUTSTANDING.GRADES 2-7. In this lively book, the migration of white sharks to San FranciscoBay’s Farallon Islands, where … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Performers’ Showcase, Library Advocacy Unshushed, Dia de los Libros Grant

Still Time to Register for the ACL Performers’ Showcase in the Bay Area: Do you hire family entertainment for your library (or other venue)? Come see over thirty children’s performers, all in one day, all in one place! Presented annually … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, News | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

National Readathon Day – Jan. 24, 2015

National Readathon Day (NRD), January 24, is only two weeks away. Just in its first year, the event came out of the Random House/Penguin merger in 2013 and asks participants to read four hours that day, from noon to 4:00 … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged | Leave a comment