Monthly Archives: January 2013

Review of the Week

Pinkney, Andrea Davis. Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America. Brian Pinkney, Illus. Non-fic.  Disney/Jump at the Sun, 2012. 244p. $19.99.  978-1-4231-4257-7.  OUTSTANDING.   GRADES 5-8. In this collective biography, the author celebrates ten African-American men of achievement, from … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

ALA/ALSC Youth Media Awards Announced

At the American Library Association’s Midwinter meeting held on January 28, 2013 in Seattle, several book and media awards were announced.  These included: Newbery Medal:  Katherine Applegate for The One and Only Ivan (HarperCollins) Caldecott Medal: Jon Klassen for This … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Orion School Author Festival – Free!

The 11th annual Orion School Children’s Authors and Illustrators Festival will take place on Saturday, February 2, 2013, 10am-3:30pm, at Orion Elementary School, 815 Allerton St., Redwood City, CA.  Teachers, librarians, parents, and children are welcome to this FREE celebration. … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged | Leave a comment

ALSC Job Opening -Advocacy Website

ALSC is seeking a Member Content Editor for its upcoming ALSC Advocacy Website, scheduled to go live on May 1, and electronic newsletter. The mission of the new site is to educate youth services librarians on the importance of advocacy … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged | Leave a comment

Updates on Bayviews.org

Check out the new additions to ACL’s Website, including past Distinguished Books’ lists, new storytime themes on dinosaurs, vegetables, and pizza, read-alikes for R.J. Palacio’s Wonder, and much more! http://bayviews.org/ http://bayviews.org/calendar.html http://bayviews.org/2009distinguishedlist.pdf http://bayviews.org/2008distinguishedlist.pdf http://bayviews.org/2007distinguishedlist.pdf http://bayviews.org/2006distinguishedlist.pdf http://bayviews.org/baynews.html http://bayviews.org/baynews/news201301.html http://bayviews.org/storytime.html http://bayviews.org/storytime/stpizza.html http://bayviews.org/storytime/stdiggingupdinosaurs.htmlContinue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL, Read-alikes | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Infopeople Programming Course, “Ivy + Bean the Musical”

Programming for Children and Tweens Infopeople Online Course An Infopeople online course, March 5 to April 1, 2013 Do you want to improve your ability to develop library programs for children and pre-teens?  Here’s an opportunity to learn from an … Continue reading

Posted in News, Programming Ideas | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Pratchett, Terry.  Dodger.   Fiction.  HarperCollins, 2012. 360p. $17.99. 978-0-06-200949-4.  OUTSTANDING.   GRADES 8-12. Dodger makes his living finding loose change and baubles in the sewers of early nineteenth century London. Things change when he saves the life of a young woman … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Year of the Snake Programming Ideas

The 2013 Lunar New Year begins on Feb. 10, and this year is the Year of the Snake.  For a library program, you can include both books and activities on the traditions of Lunar New Year, Chinese Culture, and snakes.  … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

News: More “Bests,” New Online Classes, Mini-Grants, and More

Caldecott Medalist Gerald McDermott Dies:  Author, illustrator, and filmmaker Gerald McDermott died on December 26 at age 71. McDermott was a devoted, lifelong artist and was avidly interested in world mythologies. Early in his career, he created animated short films … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News, Obituary | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Outstanding!

Every month, we post an annotated bibliography of books that were rated ‘Outstanding’ and nominated for our Distinguished List at our previous month’s meeting. Members can see full reviews of these books and many more in the December edition of … Continue reading

Posted in Distinguished Nominations of the Month | Tagged | Leave a comment