Monthly Archives: January 2016

O’Dell Award, Sendak Museum, Beatrix Potter, Cleary’s 100th Birthday News

Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction Named: Laura Amy Schlitz’s The Hired Girl was named the 2016 Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction recipient. Read more about the book and the award at School Library Journal: http://www.slj.com/2016/01/industry-news/why-the-hired-girl-won-the-2016-odell-award/#_ . New Maurice … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News, Updates | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: “Friday Barnes, Girl Detective”

Spratt, R. A. Friday Barnes, Girl Detective. Phil Gosier, Illus. Fiction. Friday Barnes Series, Bk. 1. Roaring Brook, 01/2016. 272pp. $13.99. 978-1-62672-297-2. HIGH ADDITIONAL. GRADES 3-6. In this hilarious first book in a new series, Nanny Piggins creator Spratt introduces … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Walter Dean Myers Award, Books for a Global Society Announced

Walter Dean Myers Award Announced: The We Need Diverse Books(TM) Walter Award Judges Committee has confirmed selections for the inaugural Walter Dean Myers Award for Outstanding Children’s Literature – Young Adult Category. One winner and two honors have been named. … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

More Book Awards: Sydney Taylor, Charlotte Zolotow, Edgar Allen Poe, and More

Sydney Taylor Book Awards Announced: Lesléa Newman and Amy June Bates, author and illustrator of Ketzel, the Cat who Composed, Aharon Appelfeld, Philippe Dumas and Jeffrey M. Green, author, illustrator and translator of Adam and Thomas, and Laura Amy Schlitz, … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Updates | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: “Most Dangerous” by Steve Sheinkin

Sheinkin, Steve. Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War. Non-fiction. Roaring Brook, 09/2015. 384pp. $19.99. 978-1-59643-952-8. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 7-12. Steve Sheinkin (Bomb, Flashpoint, 2012) is a master of narrative non-fiction for teens, and he scores … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week, Updates | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Amelia Bloomer List, Performers’ Showcase, New BayNews for ACL

2016 Amelia Bloomer List Announced: Children’s books (for ages 0-18) with positive depictions of girls and women are the focus of the annual Amelia Bloomer List, part of the Feminist Task Force of the American Library Association’s Social Responsibility Round … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Awards, News, Programming Ideas, Updates | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes: Fractured Fairy Tales

Read-Alikes: Fractured Fairy Tales     This month’s Read-Alikes column is a little different – we are listing Fractured Fairy Tales instead of focusing on one novel or series. These fun spoofs of common folk and fairy tales are a hit … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes, Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: “Orbiting Jupiter” by Gary D. Schmidt

Schmidt, Gary D. Orbiting Jupiter. Fiction. Clarion/Houghton, 10/2015. 183pp. $17.99. 978-0-544-46222-9. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 6-9. Their son Jack’s narrative begins when a rural farm family takes in foster son Joseph, a 13-year-old who has a record of trouble as well as … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Asian/Pacific Awards, ACL Members at Midwinter

2015-2016 Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Winners Selected The Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA), an affiliate of the American Library Association, has selected the winners of the 2015 Asian/Pacific American Awards for Literature (APAAL). The awards promote Asian/Pacific American culture … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News, Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment

NEWBERY, CALDECOTT AND OTHER ALA/ALSC AWARDS ANNOUNCED

The American Library Association announced its annual Youth Media Awards in Boston on January 11, 2016, including the Newbery and Caldecott Medal winners. http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2016/01/american-library-association-announces-2016-youth-media-award-winners. Here are the awards: John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature: “Last … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Updates | Leave a comment