Monthly Archives: November 2012

Do-It-Yourself Library Programming – Movies

Many libraries have a movie license to show films at library programs.  Here are some ways to add movie showings to library programs to get the most benefit from the money spent for your movie license.  Some of these ideas … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Gale, Eric Kahn. The Bully Book. Fic.  Roaring Brook, 2012. 240p. $16.99. 978-0-06-212511-8.  OUTSTANDING. GRADES 4-8. Bullying is a hot topic in schools and society today, so it is no surprise to see yet another story involving the topic. What … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Two “Bests” Lists

The end-of-the-year “Best” lists are starting to roll out.  Here are two lists of Best Children’s Books, from Kirkus Reviews and from Publishers’ Weekly. See the Kirkus Reviews’ list of Best Children’s Books of 2012 – they chose 100 books: … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged | Leave a comment

2013 Summer Reading Ideas from CLA

It is not to early to start planning your 2013 summer library programs!  Please find updates on the 2013 California statewide summer reading program, “Reading Is So Delicious!”    Programming ideas and more!  All of the PowerPoints and handouts from the … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Isaacs, Kathleen T.  Picturing the World: Informational Picture Books for Children.  Non-fic.  American Library Assn. 2012. 206p. PB $50.00. 978-0-083891126-6.  OUTSTANDING. PROFESSIONAL READING. Libraries preparing for the “Common Core” emphasis on nonfiction will find this survey of informational picture-books invaluable. … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

November BayNews – Movie Programming, Chasing Vermeer Read-alikes, and more!

Check out the latest edition of the ACL newsletter BayNews, featuring read-alikes for Chasing Vermeer, Movie Programming ideas, and more! http://bayviews.org/baynews/news201211.html http://bayviews.org/storytime/stapples.html http://bayviews.org/storytime/sttelevision.html http://bayviews.org/readalikes/chasingvermeer.html    

Posted in Message from ACL, Programming Ideas, Read-alikes | Leave a comment

Nat’l Book Award, Keats Exhibit, Other News

Art of Ezra Jack Keats at Contemporary Jewish Museum The Contemporary Jewish Museum (CJM) presents The Snowy Day and the Art of Ezra Jack Keats, the first major United States exhibition to pay tribute to award-winning author and illustrator Ezra … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment