Monthly Archives: November 2013

Review of the Week

Sloan, Holly Goldberg. Counting by 7s.  Fiction. Dial, 2013. 380p. $16.99. 978-0-8037-03855-3. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 7-12. Although seventh grader Willow Chance was adopted by loving parents at a young age in Bakersfield, she’s faced a very solitary existence without friends. When … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Readalikes for The Circuit by Francisco Jimenez

Readalikes for The Circuit by Francisco Jimenez, and other books concerning undocumented immigrants: Picture books: Altman, Linda. Amelia’s Road. Anzaldua, Gloria. Friends from the Other Side/Amigos del otro lado. James, Helen Foster. Paper Son. Jimenez, Francisco. La Mariposa/The Butterfly. Knight, … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Kadohata wins Nat’l Book Award, Lobel Exhibit at SF Jewish Museum, Arab American Book Award

Kadohata Wins National Book Award Cynthia Kadohata won the National Book Award, Young People’s Literature category, for her novel The Thing About Luck (Atheneum, 2013). A story of a young girl and her brother who accompany their grandparents who travel … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Charlotte Zolotow Dies, Review of the Week

Author Charlotte Zolotow Dies at age 98 Author and editor Charlotte Zolotow died at age 98 on Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2013 at her home in New York. Zolotow was renowned for her many picture books (over 70 titles), including Mr. … Continue reading

Posted in Obituary, Review of the Week | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

“Junie B. Jones” Author Barbara Park Dies

Author Barbara Park, creator of the “Junie B. Jones” series of transitional fiction books, has died at age 66 from ovarian cancer.  The New Jersey native died on Friday, November 15, 2013 at her home in Scottdale, Arizona. Her first … Continue reading

Posted in Obituary | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Pop-up and Flap Books

Pop-up and Flap Books Litton, Jonathan. Mesmerizing Math. Illus. by Thomas Flintham. Templar/Candlewick, 2013. 16p. $18.99. ISBN 978-0-7636-6881-5. Full of small pop-ups, booklets, games, pullouts, and other movable elements, this look at math factoids includes quite a bit of information … Continue reading

Posted in Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment

ALSC Institute Registration Open, Review of the Week

ALSC Institute Registration Open Registration for the 2014 ALSC National Institute is now open– a great development and networking opportunity for library staff working in youth services.  This biennial conference moves around the country so don’t miss the chance to … Continue reading

Posted in News, Review of the Week | Tagged , , | Leave a comment