Monthly Archives: June 2012

Children’s Program Ideas – Legos

Children’s Program Ideas – Legos Lego programs have been growing in popularity at many libraries. They attract those boys who may be drifting away from reading, and girls enjoy the Legos, too. Most of the libraries I surveyed held their … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged | 2 Comments

Review of the Week

Barnett, Mac. Chloe and the Lion.  Adam Rex, Illus.   Pic. Bk.  Hyperion, 2012. 48p. $16.99.  978-1-4231-1334-8.  OUTSTANDING. GRADES K-5. Readers know from the very beginning that this picture book will be a bit different. “This is me, Mac. I’m the … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

From Boardbook to Facebook

If you have not yet checked out Adele Fasick’s new book on library services to youth and social media, it is well worth a look: Fasick, Adele M. From Boardbook to Facebook: Children’s Services in an Interactive Age. Libraries Unlimited, … Continue reading

Aside | Posted on by | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-alikes for “A Wrinkle In Time” by Madeleine L’Engle, in celebration of its 50th anniversary

Alexander, Lloyd. The High King.   In the fifth and final book in the Chronicle of Prydain series, the ultimate confrontation occurs determining the fate of Taran the Pig-Keeper. Barron, T.A.  Heartlight.   Kate and her grandfather try to save the sun … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Two new books on Steve Jobs: Blumenthal, Karen. Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different. Non-fic. Feiwel/Macmillan, 2012. 310p. $16.99. 978-1-25001-557-0,  PB $8.99 978-1-25001-445-0.  OUTSTANDING. GRADES 6-10. From birth, early adoption, and early education through his failures and successes, this … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged | Leave a comment

Programming Ideas for “The Lorax”

With the hit film based on Dr. Seuss’s The Lorax due out on DVD on Aug. 7, 2012, many libraries are planning programs with The Lorax as the central theme.  Because of the plot’s celebration of trees and the environment, you can … Continue reading

Posted in Media Watch, Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment

Author Rosa Guy Dies

Author Rosa Guy Dies at age 89:  Rosa Guy, a Caribbean-born writer known for her unflinchingly direct novels for young people about black life in urban America, died on June 3, 2012 at her home on the Upper West Side … Continue reading

Posted in Obituary | Tagged | Leave a comment