Category Archives: Read-alikes

ACL Meeting, Read-Alikes for “The War That Saved My Life”

ACL Meeting Friday, April 8, 2016:  Just a quick reminder for our Bay Area members!  Please join us for our ACL Meeting on Friday, April 8, 2016, from 9am–1pm at the Oakland Main Library.   We will have our usual Book … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL, Read-alikes, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes: Books on Grief and Loss

Read-alikes for Books on Grief and Loss Picture books Bagley, Jessixa. Boast for Papa. Brisson, Pat. I Remember Miss Perry. Buscaglia, Leo. The Fall of Freddie the Leaf.  Castellucci, Cecil. Grandma’s Gloves.  Dellevoet, Alexandra. Rafa Was My Robot.  DePaola, Tomie. … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes, Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for Rick Yancey’s “The 5th Wave”

Read-alikes for the YA science fiction series The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey Bao, Karen. Dove Arising.  Bowman, Erin. Taken.  Bracken, Alexandra. Passenger.  Christopher, John. The White Mountains.  Duyvis, Corinne. On the Edge of Gone.  Flanagan, John A. The Brotherband … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes: 2016 Summer Reading – Sports and Games

The 2016 Summer Reading Programs “On Your Mark, Get Set, Read!” and “Read for the Win!” both focus on sports and games. Here are some great books you can offer to those who would like to read books related to … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes: Fractured Fairy Tales

Read-Alikes: Fractured Fairy Tales     This month’s Read-Alikes column is a little different – we are listing Fractured Fairy Tales instead of focusing on one novel or series. These fun spoofs of common folk and fairy tales are a hit … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes, Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes: “Goosebumps”

READ-ALIKES for the “Goosebumps” series by R.L. Stine Avi. Something Upstairs. Baptiste, Tracey. The Jumbies. Bolger, Kevin. Zombiekins. Bracegirdle, P.J. The Joy of Spooking series. Carman, Patrick. Skeleton Creek series. Cascone, Annette and Gina. Deadtime Stories series. Cooper, Rose. I … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes, Updates | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for Rick Riordan’s “Sword of Summer” Series

Read-Alikes for Rick Riordan’s new series, “The Sword of Summer,” which begins with Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Alice, Alex. Siegfried.  Anaker, John W. The Raven’s Ring Pin. Anders, Lou. Frostborn.  Armstrong, Kelley. Loki’s Wolves (the Blackwell Pages … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , , | Leave a comment