Monthly Archives: October 2014

NY Times Best Illustrated, Nov. 6th “Make Westing” Event

New York Times Names “Best Illustrated” List The New York Times announced its list of Best Illustrated Picture Books for 2014. The judges were Jennifer Brown (Shelf Awareness blogger) and illustrators Brian Floca and Jerry Pinkney. Here is the list: … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: “Shadow Hero”

Yang, Gene Luen. The Shadow Hero. Sonny Liew, Illus. Graphic. First Second, 2014. 156p. PB $17.99. 978-1-59643-697-8. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 7-ADULT. In this appealing and dynamic follow-up to his award-winning works American Born Chinese (2006), and Boxers and Saints (2013), Yang … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Leave a comment

Board Books, Part 2

Fall Board Book Round-up, Part 2 Last month we offered Part 1 of our annual Fall Board Book Round-up, where we talked about new entries in various series. This month, we will discuss individual titles and favorite characters. Next month … Continue reading

Posted in Board Book Round Up | Leave a comment

SCBWI Meeting, Read-alikes for “Redwall”

SCBWI Meeeting on Nov. 1: The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators is having a special meeting in Walnut Creek, CA, on Saturday, November, 1, 2014, 2:00-4:00pm featuring guest speakers Darcey Rosenblatt, Arree Chung and Heather MacKey. For information … Continue reading

Posted in News, Read-alikes | Leave a comment

Review of the Week: Silver People

Engle, Margarita. Silver People: Voices from the Panama Canal. Fiction. Houghton, 2014. 260p. $17.99. 978-0-544-10941-4. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 6-9. The blatant racism and horrific conditions surrounding the monstrous undertaking of the construction of the Panama Canal are told through the voices … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Spotlight on ACL Member – Nancy Pino

Spotlight on ACL Member – Nancy Pino The September meeting is always something to look forward to as we meet the new year’s Helfeld Fellows. But this year we had a special mystery guest – Nancy Pino! It doesn’t take … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL | Tagged | 1 Comment

National Book Award Finalists, BayViews Website Updated

National Book Award Finalists: The National Book Foundation announced finalists for the 2014 National Book Awards in poetry, young adult literature, nonfiction and fiction on Wednesday morning. The winners will be recognized at a ceremony on Nov. 19, headlined by … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Message from ACL | Tagged | Leave a comment