Monthly Archives: October 2013

Review of the Week

Martin, Jacqueline Briggs. Farmer Will Allen and the Growing Table.  Eric-Shabazz Larkin, Illus. Non-fiction.  Readers to Eaters, 2013. [32]p. $17.95.  978-0-9836615-3-5.  OUTSTANDING. GRADES 2-6. Will Allen deserves this compelling biography so aptly rendered by author Jacqueline Briggs Martin (Snowflake Bentley; … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Halloween Read-Alouds

Halloween Read-alouds for ages 4-8 (Picture books) Reynolds, Aaron.   Creepy Carrots!   Jasper Rabbit wants some of the carrots that grow in a nearby field, but shadows and a “Twilight Zone” vibe frightens him. Savage, Stephen. Ten Orange Pumpkins: a Counting … Continue reading

Posted in Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment

Read-a-likes for Gennifer Choldenko’s “Al Capone Does My Homework”

Readalikes for Gennifer Choldenko’s “A Tale from Alcatraz” series, in celebration of the series’ final book Al Capone Does My Homework, Dial, 2013. Books set during the Great Depression: Ayres, Katherine. Macaroni Boy. Curtis, Christopher Paul. Bud Not Buddy. Curtis, … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Say, Allen. The Favorite Daughter ‡. Allen Say, Illus. Pic. Bk. Scholastic, 2013. [32]p. $17.99. 978-0-545-17662-0.  OUTSTANDING. GRADES 2-6. While gently understated, this autobiographical picture book is outstanding on many levels. Yuriko is teased because she has a Japanese name … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Retro Reads: The Moved-Outers by Florence Crannell Means

From time to time, we will reread classics or award winning children’s books from the past to see how they might be viewed in our current day. Means, Florence Crannell. The Moved-Outers. Houghton, 1945. 161 p., Grades 5-11. In the … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Author Ann Jonas Dies, New CLA “Briefings” Posted

Author/Illustrator Ann Jonas Dies Ann Jonas, award-winning writer and illustrator of numerous children’s books, died September 29, 2013 in Rhinebeck, NY. Between 1982 and 1999, Jonas created a total of 16 books for young readers, including The Quilt, (Greenwillow, 1984), … Continue reading

Posted in Media Watch, News, Obituary | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Ottaviani, Jim.  Primates: The Fearless Science of Jane Goodall, Dian Fossey, and Birute Galdikus.‡ Maris Wicks, Illus. Graphic novel.  First Second, 2013. 144p. $19.99. 978-1-59643-865-1. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 7-ADULT. The surprising and groundbreaking stories of the three greatest primatologists— – Goodall … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

New BayNews Posted to ACL Website

Check out the October edition of BayNews, ACL’s monthly newsletter!  It is available on our website:  http://bayviews.org/ The October issue has read-alikes for Gennifer Choldenko’s newest book, Al Capone Does My Homework, ideas for a “Fancy Nancy” Do-It-Yourself tea party … Continue reading

Posted in Board Book Round Up, Message from ACL, News, Programming Ideas, Read-alikes | Tagged | Leave a comment

Elisa Kleven at Fresno State on Nov. 1, 2013

The Arne Nixon Center Advocates would like to invite everyone to their Annual Meeting on November 1, 2013, in the Henry Madden Library at Fresno State.  Award-winning picture book author and illustrator Elisa Kleven  will be the guest speaker.  A … Continue reading

Posted in News | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Board Books Round-up Part 3

More Board Books arrived just as we were finishing last month’s column, so here are more mini-reviews of new Board Books. Single Titles: Light, Steve. Diggers Go. Chronicle Books, 2013.  16p. $9.99. ISBN 978-1-4521-1864-2. As the author did before in … Continue reading

Posted in Board Book Round Up, Updates | Tagged | Leave a comment