Steiner and Figard Named Emerging Leaders, Shusterman Wins National Book Award, New BayNews Posted

SteinerALA Names Two ACL Members Emerging Leaders: Current Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California president Meredith Steiner has been named by the Association of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, as its 2016 Emerging Leader. She currently works at the San Francisco Public Library. www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2015/11/alsc-selects-meredith-steiner-2016-emerging-leader

YALSA, the young adult librarians’ division of ALA, also named an ACL member as their Emerging Leader – Kayla Marie Figard: http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2015/11/yalsa-announces-kayla-marie-figard-its-2016-emerging-leader . Kayla is an ACL Dorothy Helfeld fellow, and works as a teen specialist at the Belmont library.

Shusterman Wins National Book Award: The National Book Awards were Challenger Deepannounced on November 18, 2015. The winner in the Young People’s Cateogory is Neal Shusterman for Challenger Deep, about a mentally ill teen who fantasizes about traveling to the deepest point on earth.   www.nationalbook.org/

New ACL BayNews Posted: The November 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org . You will find the the second part of our Fall Board Book Round-up, Readalikes for R.L. Stine’s “Goosebumps,” new storytime themes on Rain and Snow, and the Sun and Moon, and much more.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Awards, Message from ACL, News, Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s