Monthly Archives: December 2013

Read-Alikes for P.L. Travers’ “Mary Poppins”

Read-alikes for Mary Poppins by P.L Travers: These are all children’s books with distinctive Nanny characters.  You may have readers interested in the “Poppins” books if they have seen the new film “Saving Mr. Banks,” about the meeting between Walt … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Oakland Librarian Collects Notes Left in Books

Check out this story in the San Francisco Chronicle, celebrating librarian Sharon McKellar and her collection of notes left in library books: http://www.sfgate.com/bayarea/article/Oakland-librarian-collects-ephemera-left-behind-5097100.php .  There are also comments from Nina Lindsay.   Submitted by Ruth Gordon

Posted in News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Hest, Amy. When Charley Met Grandpa. Helen Oxenbury, Illus. Pic. Bk. Candlewick, 2013. [34]p. $15.99. 978-0-7636-5314-9. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-2. Henry and his puppy Charley of Charley’s First Night (2012) return in an equally charming sequel. Henry’s invitation to his grandfather … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

New ACL BayNews Posted

The December BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org/baynews.html . You will find information on Mary Poppins, news, read-alikes, and other stories.  Three new Storytime outlines have also been … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, Read-alikes | Tagged | Leave a comment

Retro Reads: Mary Poppins

Travers, P.L. Mary Poppins.  Illus. by Mary Shepard. 143p. Harcourt, 1934 (2007 reissue). With the plethora of TV commercials touting the new film “Saving Mr. Banks,” about Walt Disney’s efforts to obtain the film rights to Mary Poppins from the … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Review of the Week, Price Correction

Castellucci, Cecil. Odd Duck.  Sara Varon, Illus. Fiction.  First Second, 2013. 96p. $15.99. 978-1-59643-557-5.  OUTSTANDING. GRADES 1-4. Theodora has such a perfect routine for her daily life that she won’t even disrupt it to fly south for the winter. She … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, Review of the Week | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

ACL’s Performers’ Showcase Registration Open

Are you looking for a new group to liven up your library programming? Do you want to dazzle your patrons with programs they will talk about for years? The Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California (ACL) announces that registration … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL, Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment