Monthly Archives: December 2012

Do-It-Yourself Programming – Dinosaurs

Dinosaurs can be a great focus for a library program, especially if your target audience includes boys, primary graders, or those interested in science.  Some of these ideas were posted on the PUBYAC Listserv by Heather Hart of the Newport … Continue reading

Posted in Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Marsalis, Wynton. Squeak, Rumble, Whomp! Whomp! Whomp! Paul Rogers, Illus. Pic. Bk. Candlewick, 2012. [36]p. $15.99. 978-0-7636-3991-4. OUTSTANDING     GRADES PRE-2 A little boy describes the sounds that surround him: “Our back door squeaks. A nosy mouse eeek-eeek-eeeks! It’s also how … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

December issue of ACL BayNews now on our website!

Check out the December issue of BayNews on the website for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California – ideas for storytimes, read-alikes, news, reviews of pop-up books, and more! http://bayviews.org/index.html http://bayviews.org/calendar.html http://bayviews.org/baynews.html http://bayviews.org/baynews/news201212.html http://bayviews.org/storytime.html http://bayviews.org/storytime/stbreakfast.html http://bayviews.org/storytime/stdiggingmachines.html http://bayviews.org/storytime/stidioms.html http://bayviews.org/readalikes.htmlContinue reading

Posted in Message from ACL | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Close, Chuck. Face Book. Non-fic. Abrams, 2012. 55p. $18.95. 978-1-4197-0163-4. OUTSTANDING GRADES 4-8 Chuck Close is paralyzed from the chest down and suffers from face blindness and dyslexia, but he creates wonderfully distinctive and often giant pictures of faces using … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged | Leave a comment

Read-alikes for William Joyce’s “Guardians of Childhood” series

Read-alikes for William Joyce’s Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King, the first in the series “Guardians of Childhood.” With the new animated film “Rise of the Guardians” in theatres now, libraries may see an increase in … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Children’s Music CDs – Grammy Nominations

  2013 Grammy Award Nominees: Best Children’s Album Listed below are the nominees for the 2013 Grammy Award for Best Children’s Album. The winner will be announced on February 10, 2013. Can You Canoe? – The Okee Dokee Brothers High … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Media Watch, News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Riordan, Rick. The Red Pyramid:The Graphic Novel.  Orpheus Collar, Illus. Graphic.  The Kane Chronicles Series. Hyperion, 2012. [192]p. $21.99. 978-1-4231-5068-8.  OUTSTANDING. GRADES 5-9. This graphic novel is an excellent retelling of The Red Pyramid, the first book in the Kane … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

ACL Meeting this Friday, Dec. 14, 2012

Meeting Reminder – Friday, Dec. 14, 2012, 9am-1pm at Oakland Main Library  Just a quick reminder about our regular ACL meeting this Friday – we will have the usual book reviewing and Distinguished Books sharing.  Join us!  http://www.bayviews.org/ Read-alikes for … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Read-alikes | Tagged | Leave a comment

More “Bests,” Job Openings, Reviewer Advice, and More!

More end-of-the-year “Best” lists National Science Teachers Association: Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12: http://www.nsta.org/publications/ostb/ostb2013.aspx Horn Book Fanfare 2012: http://www.hbook.com/2012/12/blogs/read-roger/horn-book-fanfare-2012/ 2013 YALSA Nonfiction Award finalists “Titanic: Voices from the      Disaster” written by Deborah Hopkinson, published by Scholastic Press, an … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, News | Tagged | Leave a comment

Outstanding!

Every month, we’ll post an annotated bibliography of books that were rated ‘Outstanding’ and nominated for our Distinguished List at our previous month’s meeting. Members can see full reviews of these books and many more in the November edition of … Continue reading

Posted in Distinguished Nominations of the Month | Tagged | Leave a comment