Monthly Archives: March 2013

ACL Dorothy Helfeld Fellowships Available

Children’s Librarianship – Is it for you? The Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California (ACL) invites students of children’s librarianship and/or children’s literature to apply for one of three annual membership scholarships. Discover a network of active Bay Area … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL, Professional Development | Tagged | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Mills, Claudia. Zero Tolerance. Fic. Farrar, 2013. 231p. $16.99. 978-0-374-33312-6. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 4-8 When Sierra accidentally takes her mom’’s bag lunch to middle school instead of her own, she realizes there is a small knife in the bag, which she … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Leave a comment

Free Webinar – What’s New in Teen Literature

Tuesday, April 16, 2013 Start Time: Pacific – Noon, Mountain – 1:00 PM, Central – 2:00 PM, Eastern – 3:00 PM Speaker: Michael Cart Are you wondering: What the latest things in YA literature are? Who the emerging authors are? … Continue reading

Posted in News, Professional Development | Tagged , | Leave a comment

ACL Institute Rate for SLIS Students, BayViews.org Updates

Library School Students – take advantage of a special student discount and attend the Association of Children’s Librarians 2013 Institute, for just $25 for the day.  The program, to be held on Friday, April 12 from 9-4 in San Leandro, … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Board Book Round Up, Message from ACL, News, Professional Development | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Frazee, Marla. Boot and Shoe.  Marla Frazee. Illus. Pic. Bk. Beach Lane, 2012. [32]p. $16.99. 978-1-4424-2247-6. OUTSTANDING.  GRADES PRE-2. Brother dogs Boot and Shoe live together, but one prefers the front porch, the other the back porch. After chasing a … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for “Hattie Big Sky”

Homesteading Fiction:  Read-alikes for the “Hattie” series by Kirby Larson, in celebration of Larson’s newest Hattie Ever After. Armstrong, Jennifer. Black-Eyed Susan. Avi.  The Barn. Babb, Sanora. An Owl on Every Post. Conrad, Pam. Prairie Song. Dallas, Sandra. The Quilt … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Poet Nancy Wood Dies

Poet Nancy Wood Dies:  Award-winning poet, author, and photographer Nancy Wood died March 12, 2013 in Santa Fe, NM. She was 76. Wood devoted her career to exploring the culture and lives of the Native American people of the Southwest, … Continue reading

Posted in News, Obituary | Tagged | Leave a comment