ACL Meeting, Read-Alikes for “The War That Saved My Life”

Crash StorytimeACL Meeting Friday, April 8, 2016:  Just a quick reminder for our Bay Area members!  Please join us for our ACL Meeting on Friday, April 8, 2016, from 9am1pm at the Oakland Main Library.   We will have our usual Book Reviewing and a discussion of Distinguished Books.  We will also have a Professional Development session on innovations in Storytime, facilitated by Penny Peck, with all ideas welcome! For more information, see: www.bayviews.org/calendar.html#meetings.

 

READ-ALIKES

Read-Alikes for the Newbery Honor book The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker – World War II historical fiction for tweens. War That Saved

Blackford, Cheryl. Lizzie and the Lost Baby.

Elliott, Laura. Across a War-Tossed Sea.

Giff, Patricia Reilly. Lily’s Crossing.

Hartnett, Sonya. The Children of the King.

Hinton, Nigel. Time Bomb.

Holm, Jennifer L. Penny from Heaven.

Hughes, Shirley. Hero on a Bicycle.

Kent, Trilby. Medina Hill.

Larson, Kirby. Duke.

Lowry, Lois. Number the Stars.

Magorian, Michelle. Good Night, Mr. Tom.

McSwigan, Marie. Snow Treasure.

Napoli, Donna Jo. Stones in Water.

Park, Linda Sue. When My Name Was Keoko.

Patt, Beverly. Best Friends Forever: a World War II Scrapbook.

Peck, Richard. The Wings of Heroes.

Preus, Margi. Shadow on the Mountain.

Propp, Vera W. When the Soldiers Were Gone.

Smith, Dan. My Friend the Enemy.

Sepetys, Ruta. Salt to the Sea.

Sullivan, Laura L. Love by the Morning Star.

Voorhoeve, Anne C. My Family for the War.

Penny Peck, SJSU iSchool

Advertisements
This entry was posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL, Read-alikes, Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s