Monthly Archives: June 2014

Call for Proposals: Arne Nixon Center for the Study of Children’s Literature, April 10-12, 2015

Call for Proposals Arne Nixon Center for the Study of Children’s Literature Henry Madden Library at California State University, Fresno April 10-12, 2015 From the Arne Nixon Center, Cal State Fresno: “While most people are familiar with attempts to censor children’s … Continue reading

Posted in News, Professional Development | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

Farrell, Mary Cronk. Pure Grit: How American World War II Nurses Survived Battle and Prison Camp in the Pacific. Non-fiction. Abrams, 2014. 160p. $24.95. 978-1-4917-1028-5. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 7-11. From the striking cover to the harrowing stories inside, Pure Grit is … Continue reading

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged | Leave a comment

Carnegie and Greenaway Medals, Nancy Garden Obituary

Kevin Brooks Wins Carnegie, Jon Klassen Wins Greenaway: The 2014 CILIP (Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, United Kingdom) medals were announced in London on June 23, 2014. Kevin Brooks was awarded the Carnegie Medal for The Bunker Diary … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Obituary | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Pop-up and Flap Books

Pop-up and Flap Books – what’s new in Pop-up books? Cousins, Lucy. Maisy’s World of Animals. Candlewick, 2014. $14.99. ISBN 978-0-7636-6989-8. In this clever look at habitats, white mouse Maisy begins her exploration at the Arctic, seeing polar bears. Next, … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Read-Alikes for Holly Black’s “Doll Bones”

Read-alikes for Doll Bones by Holly Black (Simon & Schuster, 2013), a spooky ghost story. Aiken, Joan. Return to Harken House. Auxier, Jonathan. Night Gardener. Avi. The Seer of Shadows. Bellairs, John. The Figure in the Shadows. Bradbury, Ray. Something … Continue reading

Posted in Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

New BayNews Posted, Review of the Week

New ACL BayNews Posted: The June 2014 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org/baynews.html . You will find information on new Pop-up Books, Read-alikes for Holly Black’s Doll … Continue reading

Posted in Message from ACL, News, Read-alikes | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Out of the Ordinary

Out of the Ordinary: This new monthly column will highlight special reissues, unusual publishing projects, and other children’s books that are of special interest. Eric Carle and Friends. What’s Your Favorite Animal? Holt, 2014. $17.99. ISBN 978-0-8050-9641-5. Written as a fund-raising … Continue reading

Posted in Out of the Ordinary | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment