ACL Meeting Friday June 13th, Read-Alikes for Christian Tween Fiction

port-chicago-50ACL Meeting Friday, June 13, 2014:

Just a quick reminder for our Bay Area members! Please join us for our ACL Meeting on Friday, June 13, 2014, from 9am-1pm at the Oakland Main Library. We will have our usual Book Reviewing and a discussion of Distinguished Books. We will also have a discussion of favorite Nonfiction/Informational books to offer teachers and children, including nonfiction read-aloud titles. For more information, see: http://www.bayviews.org/calendar.html#meetings.

 

 

boxers&saintsRead-alikes for Anna Was Here by Jane Kurtz – tween fiction with a Christian focus

Bartoletti, Susan Campbell. The Boy Who Dared.

Batson, Wayne Thomas and Christopher Hopper. “The Berinfell Prophecies” series.

Batson, Wayne Thomas. “The Door Within” trilogy.

Jenkins, Jerry B. and Tim LaHaye. “Left Behind: the Kids” series.

Jenkins, Jerry B. “Red Rock Mysteries” series.

Johnson, Lois Walfrid. Escape into the Night.

Kinde, Christa J. “Threshold” series.

Kurtz, Jane. Anna Was Here.

Law, Jerel. Spirit Fighter.

Lewis, C.S. “Narnia” series.

MacKall, Dandi Daley. “Starlight Animal Rescue” series.

Myers, Bill. “The Incredible Worlds of Wally McDoogle” series.

Paul, Donita K. “Dragon Keepers Chronicles” series.

Perera, Anna. The Glass Collector.

Repp, Gloria. A Question of Yams.

Shank, Marilyn Sue. Child of the Mountains.

Yang, Gene. Boxers and Saints.

Zarr, Sara. Once Was Lost.

Or, check out books from these publishers (thanks to Janet Weber for these suggestions):
Zondervan: http://www.zondervan.com/children/children-s-fiction.html
Tyndale: http://www.tyndale.com/30_Books/kids.php
Thomas Nelson: http://www.thomasnelson.com/children.html

Penny Peck, San Jose State University, School of Library and Information Science

Advertisements
This entry was posted in ACL Events, Read-alikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s