New BayNews Posted, Review of the Week

Doll BonesNew ACL BayNews Posted: The June 2014 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org/baynews.html . You will find information on new Pop-up Books, Read-alikes for Holly Black’s Doll Bones, and other stories. Two new Storytime outlines have also been posted, on Yoga storytime, and Rebus books. Thanks! Penny Peck

Review of the Week:

NestEhrlich, Esther. Nest. Fiction. Wendy Lamb/Random, 2014. 327p. $16.99. 978-0-385-38607-4. PLB $19.99. 978-0-385-38608-1. OUTSTANDING. GRADES 5-9.

Chirp is an 11-year-old bird watcher. Set in 1972, she lives in Cape Cod with her parents and older sister Rachel. Chirp’s comfy “nest” is disturbed when her mother becomes seriously ill, and each family member tries to cope with the devastation. As Chirp struggles, she makes a friend for life with Joey from across the street, whom she had overlooked until she needed him and he needed her. Together, they escape through adventures. Ehrlich’s writing is thoughtful, genuine, and grabs the reader and squeezes tight.
Sheila Dickinson, Richmond PL

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Message from ACL, News, Read-alikes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s