Read-alikes for “A Wrinkle In Time” by Madeleine L’Engle, in celebration of its 50th anniversary

Alexander, Lloyd. The High King.   In the fifth and final book in the Chronicle of Prydain series, the ultimate confrontation occurs determining the fate of Taran the Pig-Keeper.

Barron, T.A.  Heartlight.   Kate and her grandfather try to save the sun using a combination of psychic power and quantum physics.

Barker, Clive. Abarat.  In the first of four books, Candy travels to a strange archipelago where she must save it from evil forces.

Bloor, Edward. London Calling.  Seventh-grader Martin is transported back to 1940 and the bombing of London by an old radio.

Buckley-Archer, Linda. Gideon the Cutpurse.  First in a trilogy, Peter and his new friend Kate are accidentally transported back in time to 1763 England.

Dalton, Annie. Out of the Ordinary.  Molly, who has magical powers, is appointed guardian of Floris, an enchanted boy – soon he is kidnapped and Molly must find him.

Engdahl, Sylvia. Enchantress from the Stars.  Three civilizations from different planets clash (a Newbery Honor book).

Farmer, Nancy.  The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm.   In this Newbery Honor book, the three children of a general are kidnapped in Zimbabwe, and three mutant detectives try to find them.

Gaiman, Neil.  Coraline.  Coraline ends up in a mysterious alternative world, and must escape to save herself and her parents.

Hutchins, Hazel and Ohi, Ruth. The Prince of Tarn.  The Prince of Tarn appears in Fred’s bedroom on Fred’s 11th birthday, and takes the boy on en exciting adventure.

James, Mary. The Shuteyes.  Chester is taken to a planet where sleeping is against the law.

Jones, Diana Wynne. Hexwood.  Ann, a farm girl, realizes she is from another galaxy, and must join forces with others to keep an evil one from taking over the universe.

Klass, David. Firestorm.  First in the Caretaker trilogy, Jack learns he was sent from the future for a special purpose.

Paulsen, Gary.  The Transall Saga.  Mark falls down a tube of blue light while backpacking, and finds himself in a primitive world.

Pratchett, Terry. Johnny and the Bomb.  Because he has figured out how to travel through time, Johnny knows when the Germans will drop a bomb on his village.

Pullman, Philip.  The Amber Spyglass.  In this conclusion to the His Dark Materials trilogy, Lyra and Will must battle to determine if good or evil will rule.

Stead, Rebecca.  When You Reach Me.  In this Newbery Award winner, Miranda deals with time travel while reading A Wrinkle In Time.

Ursu, Anne.  Breadcrumbs.  Hazel enters an enchanted forest to find her friend Jack; she often refers to her favorite book, A Wrinkle In Time.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Read-alikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s