Reading While White Blog, Star Wars Reads Day, New BayNews from ACL

Reading While WhiteReading While White Blog: A new blog, “Reading While White” debuted this week,   co-created by Nina Lindsay of the Oakland Public Library, along with Sam Bloom, Allie Jane Bruce, K.T. Horning, Angie Manfredi, and Megan Schliesman. Check out the blog here: http://readingwhilewhite.blogspot.com.

Nina Lindsay stated, “We at Reading While White believe that it is imperative that White people take on the task of educating themselves about race, racism, and Whiteness, rather than always rely on people of color to do the educating.  That’s what we hope to accomplish with this blog.”

And here’s their Mission:

We are White librarians organizing to confront racism in the field of children’s and young adult literature.  We are allies in the ongoing struggle for authenticity and visibility in books; for opportunities for people of color and First/Native Nations people in all aspects of the children’s and young adult book world; and for accountability among publishers, book creators, reviewers, librarians, teachers, and others.  We are learning, and hold ourselves responsible for understanding how our whiteness impacts our perspectives and our behavior.

We know that we lack the expertise that non-white have on marginalized racial experiences.  We resolve to listen and learn from people of color and First/Native Nations people willing to speak about those experiences.  We resolve to examine our own White racial experiences.

Star Wars Reads Day: October 9 and 10, 2015 are Star Wars Reads Day in many Star Wars Reads Daylibraries. Oct. 9th is a Friday, so many schools are holding their events on that day. On Sat. Oct. 10, many bookstores and public libraries will be hosting various Star Wars related programs. For promotional materials and programming ideas, check out: www.dk.com/us/explore/events/star-wars-reads-day/ .

Counting by 7sNew ACL BayNews Posted: The September 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org . You will find Readalikes for Holly Goldberg Sloan’s Counting by 7s, new storytime themes on Ducks, and Frogs, and a review of Gail Carson Levine’s Writer to Writer: From Think to Ink.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Message from ACL, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s