ACL Institute Scholarships, Free Webinar on New Children’s Books, New ACL BayNews Posted

WoodsonACL Institute Scholarships: ACL has access to a small number of scholarships from generous ACL members to cover registrations to ACL Institute 2015. They can be partial scholarships or full scholarships, depending on the need. Please contact Meredith Steiner (mersteiner@me.com) directly if you would like to request a scholarship. Please know that scholarship requests will be handled confidentially, they will only be seen by those who need to see them in order to administer the program. In order to ensure registration space, please submit scholarship requests as soon as possible, but no later than 5pm Friday, March 27th. Please spread the word about this scholarship opportunity. We do not want the registration fees to be a barrier for people to attend ACL Institute 2015 (http://www.bayviews.org/institute.html#2015)

New Free Webinar: What’s New in Children’s Literature: 2015 Update

Presenter: Penny Peck   Wolfie the bunny

Format: Webinar

Date: Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Start Time: 12 Noon Pacific

Do you freeze when a child requests a “good book new to read?” Do you feel like you always recommend the same old books? Would you like to learn more about children’s books reflecting our multicultural communities? Discover the new books that you can offer to children who use your library! Hear about books published in late 2014 and Spring 2015 that will be popular with children ages 0-12.
This webinar will be of interest to all library staff and volunteers who serve children ages 0-12, in public or school libraries. For more information and to participate in the April 14, 2015 free webinar, go to https://infopeople.org/civicrm/event/info?reset=1&id=478 .

crossoverNew ACL BayNews Posted: The March 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org . You will find ideas for Do-It-Yourself programming, an author interview with Mike Graf, reviews of special reissues and anniversary editions, Readalikes for Kwame Alexander’s The Crossover, new storytime themes relating to the Summer Reading Program, and much more.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in ACL Events, Professional Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s