Category Archives: Media Watch

Children’s Music CDs – Grammy Nominations

  2013 Grammy Award Nominees: Best Children’s Album Listed below are the nominees for the 2013 Grammy Award for Best Children’s Album. The winner will be announced on February 10, 2013. Can You Canoe? – The Okee Dokee Brothers High … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Media Watch, News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Guardian Award, Random/Penguin Merger, Lowry Interview

Frank Cottrell Boyce was named the Guardian Award winner for his book The Unforgotten Coat, which he originally wrote for charity. He was commissioned to write the story (of a Mongolian schoolgirl whose family was taken forcibly from their home … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Media Watch, News | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

New ACL BayNews and New CLA Briefings Newsletters Posted

New ACL Newsletter Posted to Bayviews Check out the latest issue of “BayNews,” the monthly newsletter for ACL.  This month features Storytime themes on math concepts, and possums, Do-It-Yourself programming ideas on science toys, Read-alikes for “Harry Potter” and books … Continue reading

Posted in Media Watch, Message from ACL, News, Programming Ideas, Read-alikes | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Meeting reminder and two recent articles worth a look

Just a quick reminder about the ACL meeting this Friday, October 12, 2012, 9am-1pm at the Oakland Main Library: http://www.bayviews.org/calendar.html .  Along with reviewing and our regular business, we will be discussing Distinguished Books for 2012. Two recent articles concerning picture … Continue reading

Posted in ACL Events, Media Watch, News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

NPR’s Best Teen Books List

Thought this story from NPR might be of interest to readers. http://www.npr.org/2012/08/07/157795366/your-favorites-100-best-ever-teen-novels and http://www.npr.org/blogs/ombudsman/2012/09/10/160768675/when-a-popular-list-of-100-best-ever-teen-books-is-the-whitest-ever Submitted by Helen Block

Posted in Media Watch, News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Kathleen Odean’s New Blog, and Jean Merrill’s Obituary

Longtime ACLers will be particularly happy to know about former member Kathleen Odean’s new nonfiction blog, available at http://www.greatcommoncorenonfiction.com/ For newer members, Kathleen is the author of 4 guides to children’s books: Great Books for Girls, Great Books for Boys, … Continue reading

Posted in Media Watch, News, Obituary | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Programming Ideas for “The Lorax”

With the hit film based on Dr. Seuss’s The Lorax due out on DVD on Aug. 7, 2012, many libraries are planning programs with The Lorax as the central theme.  Because of the plot’s celebration of trees and the environment, you can … Continue reading

Posted in Media Watch, Programming Ideas | Tagged | Leave a comment