Read-Alikes: Books on Grief and Loss

Read-alikes for Books on Grief and Loss

Goodbye BookPicture books

Bagley, Jessixa. Boast for Papa.

Brisson, Pat. I Remember Miss Perry.

Buscaglia, Leo. The Fall of Freddie the Leaf.

 Castellucci, Cecil. Grandma’s Gloves.

 Dellevoet, Alexandra. Rafa Was My Robot.

 DePaola, Tomie. Nana Upstairs and Nana Downstairs.

Durant, Alan. Always and Forever.

 Huneck, Stephen. Sally Goes to Heaven.

 Lunde, Stein Erik. My Father’s Arms Are a Boat.

 Moundlic, Charlotte. The Scar.

 Parr, Todd. The Goodbye Book.

 Rosen, Michael. Michael Rosen’s Sad Book.

 Stewart, Briony. Here in the Garden.

 Viorst, Judith. The 10th Good Thing About Barney.

Nonfiction

Brown, Laurene Krasny. When Dinosaurs Die.

Goldman, Linda. Children Also Grieve.

 Loewen, Nancy. Saying Good-bye to Uncle Joe.

 Raschka, Chris. The Purple Balloon.

 Chapter books/Tween novels

Meet You at Harry'sBeaty, Andrea. Secrets of the Cicada Summer.

Benjamin, Ali. The Thing About Jellyfish.

Graff, Lisa. Umbrella Summer.

Hays, Tommy. What I Came to Tell You.

Knowles, Johanna. See You at Harry’s.

L’Engle, Madeleine. Meet the Austins.

 

Lowry, Lois. A Summer to Die.

Nunzum, K.A. The Leanin’ Dog.

Park, Barbara. Mick Harte Was Here.

Smith, Tamara Ellis. Another Kind of Hurricane.

Wiles, Deborah. Each Little Bird That Sings.

Penny Peck, SJSU iSchool

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Read-alikes, Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s