Read-Alikes: 2016 Summer Reading – Sports and Games

Read for the WinThe 2016 Summer Reading Programs “On Your Mark, Get Set, Read!” and “Read for the Win!” both focus on sports and games. Here are some great books you can offer to those who would like to read books related to the theme.

For Little Ones (ages two – five)

Alexander, Kwame. Surf’s Up.

Allard, Harry. Miss Nelson Has a Field Day.

Boelts, Maribeth. Happy Like Soccer.

Boiger, Alexandra. Max and Marla.

Brown, Marc. Arthur’s Computer Disaster.

Drummond, Ree. Charlie Plays Ball.

Durand, Hallie. Mitch Goes Bowling.

Grandits, John. The Travel Game.

Clothesline CluesHeling, Kathryn. Clothesline Clues to Sports People Play.

Judge, Lita. Red Sled.

Lester, Helen. Tacky and the Winter Games.

McMullan, Kate. I’m Cool!

Meyer, Eileen R. Ballpark.

Morales, Yuyi. Niño Wrestles the World.

Pinkney, Brian. On the Ball.

Say, Allen. Bicycle Man.

Sullivan, Mary. Ball.

Trimmer, Christian. Mimi and Shu in I’ll Race You!

Wheeler, Lisa. Dino-Swimming.

Wielockx, Ruth. I Won.

Yoon, Salina. Tap to Play.

For Early Readers (ages five – six)

Don't ThrowAdler, David A. Don’t Throw it to Mo!

Blevins, Wiley. Go, Billy, Go!

Eastman, P.D. Aaron Is a Good Sport.

Hsu Lin, Amy. Splat the Cat: the Name of the Game.

Mills, Claudia. Gus and Grandpa at Basketball.

Rylant, Cynthia. Mr. Putter and Tabby Drop the Ball.

Willems, Mo. A Big Guy Took My Ball!

Moving-Up Books (ages six – eight)

Lola LevineBrown, Monica. Lola Levine is Not Mean!

Meshon, Aaron. Take Me Out to the Yakyu.

Mills, Claudia. Izzy Barr, Running Star.

Mochizuki, Ken. Baseball Saved Us.

Myers, Christopher. H.O.R.S.E.-A Game of Basketball and Imagination.

O’Connor, Jane. Nancy Clancy: Soccer Mania.

Parish, Herman. Amelia Bedelia Shapes Up.

Preller, James. Scary Tales: Nightmareland.

Quinn, Jordan. Let the Games Begin!

For Tweens (ages nine – twelve)

crossoverAlexander, Kwame. The Crossover.

Berlin, Eric. The Puzzling World of Winston Breen.

Bowen, Fred. Perfect Game.

Card, Orson Scott. Ender’s Game.

Feldman, Jody. The Gollywhopper Games.

Freitas, Donna. Gold Medal Winter.

Grabenstein, Chris. Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library.

Green, Tim. Football Champ.

Green, Tim. Force Out.

Lee, Fonda. Zeroboxer.

Miller, Jeff. Close Encounters of the Nerd Kind.

Nall, Gail. Breaking the Ice.

Nelson, Peter. Herbert’s Wormhole.

Raskin, Ellen. The Westing Game.

Schreiber, Joe. Game Over, Pete Watson.

Scieszka, Jon. Guys Read: Sports Pages.

Snyder, Zilpha Keatley. The Egypt Game.

Soto, Gary. Taking Sides.

Spinelli, Jerry. Maniac Magee.

Stoudemire, Amar’e. Slam Dunk.

Tashjian, Janet. My Life as a Gamer.

Wesselhoeft, Conrad. Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly.

Yelchin, Eugene. Arcady’s Goal.

Graphic Novels

Holm, Jennifer and Matthew. Squish: Game On!

Holm, Jennifer and Matthew. Babymouse Goes for the Gold.

Jamieson, Victoria. Roller Girl.

Krosoczka, Jarrett. Lunch Lady and the Video Game Villain.

Morse, Scott. Magic Pickle and the Creature from the Black Legume.

Yang, Gene Luen. Level Up.

Poetry

Adoff, Arnold. Sports Pages.

Chatterjee, Debjani and Brian D’Arcy. Let’s Play! Poems about Sports and Games from Around the World.

Lesynski, Loris. Crazy about Hockey!

Prelutsky, Jack. Good Sports: Rhymes about Running, Jumping, Throwing, and More.

Smith, Charles R. Hoop Kings: Poems.

Thayer, Ernest Lawrence. Casey at the Bat.

Nonfiction

Brothers at BatBirmingham, Maria. WeirdZone – Sports.

Coy, John. Game Changer: John McLendon and the Secret Game.

Douglas, Gabrielle. Raising the Bar.

Kootstra, Kara. The Boy in Number Four.

Lair, Cynthia. Feeding the Young Athlete: Sports Nutrition Made Easy for Players, Parents, and Coaches.

Lang, Heather. Queen of the Track: Alice Coachman, Olympic High-Jump Champion.

McCully, Emily Arnold. Queen of the Diamond: the Lizzie Murphy Story.

Moss, Marissa. Barbed Wire Baseball.

Smith, Charles R. Black Jack: the Ballad of Jack Johnson.

Tavares, Matt. Becoming Babe Ruth.

Vernick, Audrey. Brothers at Bat: the True Story of an Amazing All-Brother Baseball Team.

Penny Peck, SJSU iSchool

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Read-alikes, Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s