New ACL BayNews, Bay Area Publishing, Motivating Reading, and LGBTQ List

You-Are-Not-Small-CoverNew ACL BayNews Posted: The June 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org You will find the second part of our Spring Board Book Round-up, Read-alikes for Paper Towns, new storytime themes on dinosaurs and sizes, and much more.  Updated pages include:

http://bayviews.org/index.html

http://bayviews.org/calendar.html

http://bayviews.org/baynews.html

http://bayviews.org/baynews/news201506.html

http://bayviews.org/storytime.html

http://bayviews.org/storytime/stsizes.html

http://bayviews.org/storytime/stdino.htm

http://bayviews.org/readalikes.html

http://bayviews.org/readalikes/papertowns.html

Article on Children’s Book Publishing in the Bay Area: Check out this interesting take on children’s book publishing in the San Francisco Bay Area. Thanks to Ruth Gordon for forwarding this to us! Otoshiwww.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/childrens/childrens-industry-news/article/67103-bay-area-spotlight-2015-the-wild-west-of-kids-books.html?utm_source=Publishers+Weekly&utm_campaign=84316de5a0-UA-15906914-1&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_0bb2959cbb-84316de5a0-304449365#path/pw/by-topic/childrens/childrens-industry-news/article/67103-bay-area-spotlight-2015-the-wild-west-of-kids-books.html?utm_source=Publishers+Weekly&utm_campaign=84316de5a0-UA-15906914-1&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_0bb2959cbb-84316de5a0-304449365

How to Motivate Kids to Read: Another useful and interesting article, this one on using “reading rituals” to motivate children to read: www.nytimes.com/2015/06/10/books/review/a-guide-to-reading-rituals.html?emc=edit_bk_20150612&nl=books&nlid=1274360&_r=0

this-day-in-junePride Month – List of LGBTQ-Positive Children’s Books: Need some titles for your LGBTQ display? Check out this list of books that have positive LGBTQ depictions for children: www.bustle.com/articles/87976-30-lgbtqia-positive-childrens-books-thatll-teach-kids-how-beautifully-diverse-the-world-is

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Message from ACL, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s