ACL Members Elected, Jane Addams Awards, New BayNews Posted

Congratulations to our members who were elected to ALA offices! The following members of the Association of Children’s Librarians (of Northern California) were recently elected to ALA Office or Committees! Help us congratulate them!

*Pat Toney, ALA Council

*Erica Dean Glenn, 2017 Caldecott

*Ted McCoy, 2017 Sibert

separateJane Addams Awards Announced:  The 2015 Jane Addams Book Awards, celebrating peace and social justice, were announced on April 28, 2015. The winner for Younger Children is Duncan Tonatiuh’s Separate Is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez and Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation. The winner for Older Children is Teri Kanefield’s The Girl from the Tar Paper School: Barbara Rose Johns and the Advent of the Civil Rights Movement. Both books were published by Abrams. Two honor books in the Older Children category were named: Revolution by Deborah Wiles (Scholastic) and Silver People: Voices from the Panama Canal (HMH). Two honor books were also named in the Younger Children category: Whispering Town by Jennifer Elvgren (Kar-Ben) and Shooting at the Stars: The Christmas Truce of 1914 by John Hendrix (Abrams).   www.janeaddamspeace.org/

New ACL BayNews Posted: The May 2015 BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: Daddys Busy Dayhttp://www.bayviews.org . You will find the the first part of our Spring Board Book Round-up, Readalikes for James Patterson’s bestselling “I Funny” series, new storytime themes on Legendary Heroes, Sidekicks, and Ballet, hands-on programming ideas for STEAM (Science, Tech, Engineering, Art, and Math) and much more. Thanks! Penny Peck

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Awards, Message from ACL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s