Read-alikes for 2015 Summer Reading Program “Every Hero Has a Story”

2015 SRP HeroREAD-ALIKES: 2015 Summer Reading Program “Every Hero Has a Story”

For Little Ones (ages two – five)
Buehner, Caralyn. Dex: The Heart of a Hero.
Chabon, Michael. The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man.
Cottringer, Anne. Eliot Jones, Midnight Superhero.
David, Lawrence. Superhero Max.
Donaldson, Julie. Superworm.
Escoffier, Michael. The Day I Lost My Superpowers.
Foreman, Michael. Superfrog! series.
Gail, Chris. Awesome Dawson.
Graham, Bob. Max.
Grey, Mini. Traction Man series.
Freytag, Lorna. My Humongous Hamster series.
Hinkes, Ed. Police Cat.
Kearney, Meg. Trouper.
Leroy, Jean. Superfab Saves the Day.
McCloud, Bob. SuperHero ABC.
Morales, Yuyi. Nino Wrestles the World.
O’Connor, George. KAPOW!
Pilkey, Dav. Dog Breath: The Horrible Trouble of Hally Tosis.
Pilutti, Deb. Ten Rules of Being a Superhero.
Rathmann, Peggy. Officer Buckle and Gloria.
Reynolds, Aaron. Superhero School.
Rocco, John. Super Hair-o and the Barber of Doom.
Rosen, Michael. Send for a Superhero!
Weitz, Jacqueline Preiss. Superhero Joe series.
Whatley, Bruce. Captain Pajamas: Defender of the Universe.
For Early Readers (ages five – six)
Arnold, Tedd. Fly Guy series.
Harper, Charise Mericle. Wedgieman series.
Sharmat, Marjorie Weinman. Nate the Great series.
Moving-Up Transitional Chapter Books (ages six – eight)
Brown, Jeff. Star Wars: Jedi Academy.
Jules, Jacqueline. Zapato Power series.
Kirby, Stan. Captain Awesome to the Rescue series.
Marko, Cyndi. Kung Pow Chicken series.
McDonald, Megan. Stink: Solar System Superhero.
Pilkey, Dav. Captain Underpants series.
Pilkey, Dav. Ricky Ricotta series.
Roland, Timothy. Monkey Me series.

For Tweens (ages nine – twelve)2015 SRP Hero 2
Anderson, John David. Sidekicked.
Anderson, John David. Minion.
Angleberger, Tom. Origami Yoda series.
Angus, Sam. Soldier Dog.
Angus, Sam. A Horse Called Hero.
Bacon, Lee. Joshua Dread: The Nameless Hero.
Blackwood, Sage. Jinx.
Cowell, Cressida. How to Train Your Dragon series.
DiTerlizzi, Tony. Wondla series.
Feiffer, Jules. A Barrel of Laughs, a Vale of Tears.
Fleming, David. The Saturday Boy.
Harkrader, Lisa. The Adventures of Beanboy.
Healy, Christopher. Hero’s Guide series.
Jensen, Marion. Almost Super.
Klimo, Kate. Togo.
Palacio, R.J. Wonder.
Park, Linda Sue. Archer’s Quest.
Riordan, Rick. Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.
Smith, Greg Leitich. Little Green Men at the Mercury Inn.

Graphic Novels
Gallagher, John. Buzzboy: Sidekicks Rule!
Hatke, Ben. Zita the Spacegirl series.
Holm, Jennifer L. Babymouse series.
Holm, Jennifer L. and others. Comics Squad! Recess!
Igle, Jamal. Molly Danger.
Krosoczka, Jarrett J. Lunch Lady series.
Maihack, Mike. Cleopatra in Space series.
Santat, Dan. Sidekicks.
Singer, Marilyn. The Superheroes Employment Agency.
Yang, Gene. The Shadow Hero.

Nonfiction
Atwood, Kathryn J. Women Heroes of World War I.
Bausum, Ann. Stubby the War Dog: The True Story of World War I’s Bravest Dog.
Farrell, Mary Cronk. Pure Grit: How World War II Nurses in the Pacific Survived Combat and Prison Camp.
Freedman, Russell. Because They Marched: The People’s Campaign for Voting Rights That Changed America.
Lewis, John. March, Book 1.
Mendoza, Patrick. From Bunker Hill to Baghdad: True Stories of America’s Veterans.
Sheinkin, Steve. The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights.
Standiford, Natalie. The Bravest Dog Ever: The True Story of Balto.
Tonatiuh, Duncan. Separate Is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez and Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation.
Yousafzai, Malala. I Am Malala (Young Readers Edition)

By Penny Peck, San Jose State Univ. iSchool

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Read-alikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s