R.A. Mongomery Dies, Kirkus Prize Announced

Choose 2Author R.A. Montgomery of “Choose Your Own Adventure” Books Dies:

R.A. Montgomery, publisher and sometime author of the “Choose Your Own Adventure” series of novels for grades 3-5 has died at age 78, at his home in Vermont. Montgomery started a small publishing house, and in 1977 Ed Packard submitted Sugarcane Island, the first “Choose Your Own Adventure” book. Selling more than 250 million books in the series, the series has continued to be popular and inspired others to follow the model that encouraged readers to choose different outcomes in the story. Actor Neil Patrick Harris followed the model for his recent memoir, Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography. For more information, see: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/11/14/ra-montgomery-dead_n_6161414.html .

2014 Kirkus Prize Goes to Kate Samworth:  Aviary Wonders

The first-ever Kirkus Prize in Young Readers’ Literature goes to Kate Samworth for Aviary Wonders Inc. (Clarion, 2014). This innovative picture book resembles a mail order category, combining humor with information on birds and environmental issues. The prize winner receives $50,000. http://www.slj.com/2014/10/awards/the-winner-of-the-2014-kirkus-prize-in-young-readers-literature/ .

This entry was posted in Awards, Obituary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s