“Tree Lady” Wins Beatty, Sue Townsend Dies, New BayNews Posted

tree_ladyThe Tree Lady by H. Joseph Hopkins selected for 2014 CLA Beatty Award: The Tree Lady, written by H. Joseph Hopkins and illustrated by Jill McElmurry, has been selected by the California Library Association (CLA) to receive its prestigious Beatty Award. Hopkins’ and McElmurry’s vivid book tells the story of pioneer and activist, Kate Sessions, who helped San Diego grow from a dry desert town into a lush, leafy city known for its gorgeous parks and gardens.

Thank you, California librarians, for honoring The Tree Lady,” said Hopkins. “Your award is a grand tribute to Kate Sessions’ legacy and to the book artists who made Kate’s story into a fine work of art.” Jill McElmurry said, “Three generations of my family considered themselves Californians. As a Californian at heart, I’m proud and happy to receive this award.

Hopkins and McElmurry will be honored at the Beatty Award Luncheon on Saturday, November 7, 2014, during the CLA annual conference in Oakland, CA. “CLA is delighted to honor this lovely book that tells the story of a determined California scientist who followed her heart to make San Diego a more beautiful place,” said CLA President Deborah Doyle.

H. Joseph Hopkins (author) lives in Oregon, on a houseboat. Jill McElmurry (illustrator) lives with her husband, dog, and apple, peach, pear, and fig trees in New Mexico.

The John & Patricia Beatty Award honors the author of a distinguished book for children or young adults that best promotes an awareness of California and its people. The California Library Association provides leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library services and librarianship

2014 Beatty Committee members: Diane Bartlett, Chair (Stanislaus County Library), Odette Batis (Richmond Public Library), Roberta Boegel (Sacramento Public Library), Ashley Kagan (Palos Verdes Library District), Sarah Mae Harper (County of Los Angeles Public Library), Rene Hohls (Ventura County Office of Education), and Edwin Rodarte (Ontario City Library).

New ACL BayNews Posted: The April issue of BayNews (the newsletter for the Lawn boyAssociation of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: www.bayviews.org/baynews.html . You will find information on reissues, news, read-alikes for Lawn Boy by Gary Paulsen, and other stories.  Three new Storytime outlines have also been posted, continuing our topics for the upcoming 2014 summer reading themes “Paws to Read,” and “Fizz Boom Read!”  Thanks!

Secret DiatyAuthor Sue Townsend Dies: Author Sue Townsend, the creator of the “Adrian Mole” series of hilarious tween novels, has died at age 68. The British author wrote The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 ¾, in 1982, followed by several sequels that took the quirky boy into manhood. Written in journal format, the series came before the “Bridget Jones” series by Helen Fielding, of diary novels that are often compared to Townsend’s work. Townsend also wrote plays, and her Adrian Mole character inspired a British television series. For more information, see: www.slj.com/2014/04/obituary/brit-ya-author-of-the-original-bridget-jones-series-series-passes-away-at-68/ or www.nytimes.com/2014/04/16/arts/sue-townsend-creator-of-adrian-mole-books-dies-at-68.html?nl=todaysheadlines&emc=edit_th_20140416&_r=0 .

2014 Teen Read Week: www.ala.org/teenread The Teen Read Week website is now Teen Readlive. With the launching of the site, online community members will have full access to a variety of resources to help them plan their Teen Read Week (TRW). Individuals who are not online community members yet are encouraged to join for free to gain full access to resources, perks, and monthly updates. Resources and incentives include downloadable theme logo, forums, grant information, publicity tools, posters and bookmarks, free webinars, and other resources. The theme this year is Turn Dreams into Reality @ your library and will be celebrated October 12-18, 2014. The national spokesperson for this year’s celebration is Australian actor Brenton Thwaites, who stars in the highly anticipated movie adaptation of the book, The Giver, set for release on August 15, 2014.

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Awards, Message from ACL, News, Obituary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Tree Lady” Wins Beatty, Sue Townsend Dies, New BayNews Posted

  1. Pingback: Tree Lady : The True Story of How One Tree-Loving Woman Changed a City Forever |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s